MO013_016DG.jpgTravis Pastrana and the Red Bull/Discount Tire Dodge Dart
    rally car had hoped to have a better outing this past weekend than they had in the
    first event of the season but even though Dodge fielded two cars for the Texas Hoon
    Kaboom, the team had a worse weekend than they did earlier this year.

    Travis Pastrana and his #199 Red Bull/Discount Tire Dodge
    Dart took to the track for Heat 1 and while it wasn’t an awful race – it wasn’t
    enough as he finished 3rd with the top two moving onto the final
    race.  Pastrana was joined by new
    teammate Felipe Albuquerque who piloted the #99 Red Bull/Discount Tire Dodge
    Dart in Heat 3 after only 4 test laps.  Albuquerque
    was running a strong second in his first outing in the new Dart rally car but
    late in the race, he nearly lost control as he sped through the “car wash” –
    dropping to third.  Like Pastrana, Albuquerque
    would have to settle for the last chance qualifier (LCQ).

    In the first LCQ, Travis Pastrana was running well and
    leading the way when he took the large jump too big.  As the Dodge Dart slammed down and Pastrana
    began to prepare the car for the hard hairpin turn – his shoulder separated and
    he crashed into the tires.  His Dart
    rally car was not affected but Pastrana was left unable to drive so he quickly
    pulled his car off of the track.  Because
    of this, he failed to qualify for the final race.  After the race, Pastrana apologized to his
    team and his sponsors for being so fragile and promised that he will fix the
    shoulder and be ready for the next race.

    In the second LCQ, Felipe Albuquerque was turning in strong
    laps when Subaru driver Bucky Lasek spun directly in front of him as they
    approached the large jump.  Lasek went
    off of the side of the jump ramp and Albuquerque stopped in time to avoid
    colliding with the Impreza while, at the same time, the new driver found that
    he didn’t have enough power to make the jump. 
    Like Pastrana, Felipe Albuquerque did not qualify for the final race.

    In the final race of the Texas Hoon Kaboom Global RallyCross
    event, the Ford rally team continued its dominance of season with Marcus
    Gronholm winning (again), Tanner Foust finishing second (again) and Brian
    Deegan finishing third.