pressshot2CORRECTED.jpgThe racing debut of the 2013 SRT Viper GTS-R is just nine
    days away and the two teams of four drivers have been finalized for the Viper’s
    big debut to the American LeMans Series. 
    As expected, Kumo Wittmer, Dominik Farnbacher and Marc Goossens will
    pilot the new Viper GTS-R but the fourth driver racing at the Mid Ohio Race
    Course next weekend will be experienced road racer Tommy Kendal.

    When the new Viper race program was announced shortly after
    the New York Auto Show debut of the 2013 SRT Viper, Wittmer, Farnbacher and
    Goossens were all mentioned along with Ryan Hunter-Reay but the folks at SRT
    mentioned that there would be additional driver news as we got closer to the
    racing debut.  The first announcement
    came last week when Tommy Kendal announced that he would be the fourth full-time
    driver for the SRT Viper GTS-R program and today, SRT announced that Jonathan
    Bomarito would join the SRT Viper team for longer endurance races.  Ryan Hunter-Reay will also join the other
    five Viper team drivers for those longer races.

    The 2013 SRT Viper GTS-R debut at the 2012 Ohio Sports Car
    Challenge is a 2 hour and 45 minute race so the teams will only need two
    drivers for each car.  SRT has registered
    a pair of 2013 Viper GTS-R race cars – one the blue and silver #91 Forza
    Motorsport car and the other a silver and yellow Viper sporting the number 93
    and the Pennzoil Ultra sponsor.  The #91
    Viper will be driven by Kumo Wittmer and Dominik Farnbacher while the #93 Viper
    will be driven by Marc Goossens and Tommy Kendal.

    The Mid Ohio Sports Car Challenge begins on Saturday August
    4th at 1:05pm.  If you have an
    Xbox 360 with the Xbox Live ESPN3 app, you can watch all of the action starting
    at 12:15pm EST while those watching on television can catch the race starting at
    2pm on ABC.

    The lineup for the American LeMans Series GT
    Class at Mid Ohio is:
    Car # – Car Make – Drivers – Sponsor
    01-Ferrari F458 Italia- Scott Sharp/ Johannes van Overbeek – Tequila Patrón
    2- Ferrari F458 Italia – Ed Brown/ Guy Cosmo – Tequila Patrón
    3 – Chevrolet Corvette C6 ZR1 – Jan Magnussen/ Antonio Garcia – Compuware
    4 – Chevrolet Corvette C6 ZR1 – Oliver Gavin / Tommy Milner – Compuware
    17- Porsche 911 GT3 RSR- Wolf Henzler/ Bryan Sellers- Falken Tire
    23- Lotus Evora- Bill Sweedler/ Townsend Bell- Battery Tender/ William Rast/
    44- Porsche 911 GT3 RSR- Seth Neiman/ Marco Holzer – eSilicon/ Osmo Nutrition
    45- Porsche 911 GT3 RSR- Jörg Bergmeister / Patrick Long – eSilicon/ Osmo
    48- Porsche 911 GT3 RSR- Bryce Miller/ Sascha Maassen- Dunlop/ Chopard
    55- BMW E92 M3- Jörg Müller/ Bill Auberlen-BMW
    56- BMW E92 M3- Joey Hand / Dirk Müller -BMW
    91-SRT Viper GTS-R-Kumo Wittmer/ Dominik Farnbacher-Forza Motorsport
    93- SRT Viper GTS-R- Marc Goossens/ Tommy Kendal-Pennzoil Ultra