Dodge/Ram Diesel Tech Discussions on all generations of Cummins Diesel powered Rams plus the new Eco Diesel
Old 08-05-2015, 12:28 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: 4WD
Print Wikipost

How to shift 4wd

Old 10-16-2008, 04:31 PM
Fishguy50
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to shift 4wd

Hellow everyone I am new to DF and it has been fun and interesting so far.I own an 05 Thunder Road 4x4 cummins. This is the first 4wd I have owned and, I dont know the safe and correct ways to shift into or out of 4wd. Do I have to be in park or neutral.Go ahead and lol at the newby, but at least I am asking before I break stuff.Thank you for any helpful advice.

Old 10-16-2008, 04:49 PM
TXcharger07
Veteran
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

neutral is the best gear.

Old 10-17-2008, 01:27 AM
Mike124
Rookie

Look at the driver side sun visor an owner's manual, they both should cover using 4wd to.

Here the basics

Shifting from 2wd To 4HI Then Back To 2wd
- You can shift on the fly (well moving) in & out of 4hi which simply means let up off the throttle shift into 4wd then continue on, same for shift out of 4wd.
- You can shift into an out of 4hi without letting off the throttle but the 4wd system will take a little longer to engage because to front drive shaft is slowly accelerating up to your current speed where without the throttle it will pretty much instantly spin up to speed.
- 4hi is good to 50 - 55mphs then the front hubs should unlock.

Shifting from 2wd or 4Hi into an out of 4Lo
- You must come to a complete STOP then apply brake shift transmission into neutral then shift transfer case into 4Lo, then shift back into gear an continue, the same goes for shifting out of 4Lo.
- 4lo is good to 25-35mphs an the hubs don't unlock.