2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmission does not engage in any gear

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2008, 08:58 PM
nubee
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission does not engage in any gear

Newbie here looking for some help. Its a 1995 Dodge Ram 1500, 5.9 motor with an Automatic trans. About 3-4 months ago it did not shift into overdrive. That did not bother me much since I didn't use overdrive much, but today my transmission does not seem to engage in any gear. This just happened on my way home from the gas station, luckily it happened only a block away from home.
Is it time for a new rebuild or can it be a bad sensor or something?

The truck has ran perfect until today (with the exception of the overdrive not working).

Any help would be appreciated.

Old 11-11-2008, 09:17 PM
MonteC
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Time for a rebuild. When the transmission wont engauge any gear than you have a mechanical problem, internally.

Old 11-12-2008, 10:19 AM
Aubrey
Record Breaker
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You didn't say anything about the tranny fluid color, smell, level. The last time it was serviced and how. Noises or anything.

Old 11-12-2008, 01:20 PM
nubee

Thanks for the quick replies. I went to see if can I move it this morning and I was able to shift it to D and drive it home. I was only able to drive it about 5-10mph. If I gave it more gas the engine rpm just went higher, but the car would still only move about the same speed.

I looked at the fluid from the dipstick and it looks normal, but I'll drop the pan later today to get a better look. I didn't smell anything out of the ordinary and I didn't hear any weird noises coming from the trans.