2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

2001 Dodge Ram 1500 - OXYGEN SENSOR PROBLEM - Your advice please :)

Old 01-17-2009, 02:17 AM
rawrr
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 - OXYGEN SENSOR PROBLEM - Your advice please :)

Hello Everyone!

I will start off by saying I am new to the forum and am looking forward to helping out as much as I can on the forum and also being helped!! Unfortunately I am only beginning the learning period on my dodge so I figured this forum would be perfect to learn from many experienced dodge owners!

In short description of the problem below if you don't have time to read the story, THANKS!

STORY of the Truck : Skip ahead if you don't want to read a whole lot

So dating back almost exactly a year ago, I bought a 2001 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Sport (5.2L, 318) from a dealership in Washington State Area (George Gee). They sold me the truck in what seemed to be great condition, only eventually needing a new pair of tires. They went over it with me and I had the confidence in buying this truck from a dealership and not a private party. It was a 5Spd with just under 83,500 miles. Well I drove the truck around for a week and I had noticed that the truck was ticking under loads (or going up hills) and also noticed that every now and then the clutch was slipping. (Go to gas it, the RPM's would build up and the truck would stay at its current speed). Anywho I knew that was something that had possibly needed to be changed and was probably the original clutch. The spark plugs and spark plug wires were probably on their way out as well (I guessed thats what caused some of the ticking as well).