1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

1999 Durango ABS light with pump

Old 03-30-2009, 12:18 AM
teck78
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 1999 Durango ABS light with pump

I am new to the Dodge forum. i got on because I have a ABS and brake light on with my abs pump on as well. As soon as i turn the key on i get the ABS pump on. any suggestions?

Last edited by teck78; 03-30-2009 at 12:49 AM. Reason: because
Old 03-30-2009, 11:48 AM
schusterjo
All Star
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

replace the abs sensor on the rear axle

Old 03-30-2009, 03:21 PM
hydrashocker
Hall Of Fame
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

The sensor is located on the top of the rear differential.

Old 03-31-2009, 12:15 AM
teck78
Question Rear sensor

Thanks all....Will do the sensor hopefully tomorrow if time allows. looked at it today. Does it just pop out after the nut on the stud is removed?

Old 03-31-2009, 12:27 AM
DurangoILNG23

See my thread from 3/26/2009 "Anti-Lock (ABS) Fixed". I researched all I could on it and also replaced the speed sensor in the rear differential. It appeared to be the fix based on all those that had similar problems. You may want to check its resistance before changing it.

A better bet would be to take it to a shop that can do a computer download of the trouble code for a small diagnostic fee. Dodge did mine for $35.00 while it was in for an oil change. Later, we looked at trading the Durango in on a Saturn Outlook. That dealer looked my Durango and diagnosed it for free confirming the earlier finding. Wasn't especially happy to get offered $1000 less for it since the ABS and Brake warning lights were on.

Obviously wherever you take it has to have an ABS code reader -- the auto part stores I checked with didn't have that tester for use; only had the one for engine codes, etc.