3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

07 Transmission Issue Hard Down Shift

Old 03-13-2009, 09:34 PM
mshardee
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 07 Transmission Issue Hard Down Shift

Just bought a 07 2x4 with the 4.7L, this is my first Dodge. I am a mechanic for Honda, so I am lost when it comes to my Dodge. My problem is when slowing down from over 40, around 28-25 mph, my truck down shifts very hard with almost a thump feeling. I have searched the forum and found nothing. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Old 03-13-2009, 10:12 PM
Ilovemytruck
Veteran

Did u check fluid levels etc?
Does it do it everytime, or only sometimes?
You best bet is if its under warranty, to let them hook it up to the starscan and check things out. Did you do the turn the key on off, on off for three times leaving it in the on position to see if you can pull a code. A tranny code may pop up if you do it. That will help alot. The mileage bar should say "done" or P ????. If you get a number post it and well get back, if it says done and nothing pops up, your going to have to have a dodge tech sit in the car and replicate the problem for him, theyll hook it up to the star scan and see whats wrong.
Welcome to the forum sorry your first post is a problem with your vehicle...

Old 04-22-2009, 06:53 PM
azdecals
Default any update?

Is there an update for this question?
I just bought an '07 and the transmission is doing the exact same thing. Is this a know issue? Is this big problems for my new truck?

It's got 34K miles so it's still under B2B warranty, but it sucks that it's doing that. It doesn't do it every time. It seems if I'm breaking hard, it does it much less, if I start to break, then just the the truck slow on it's own is when I get the biggest "jolt" on the down shift.

azdecals