2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

P0601 code ecm

Old 08-25-2009, 11:23 PM
Mic Wrath
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy P0601 code ecm

Hello, I'm new to this hole forum thing. I have a 2001 dodge ram 1500 4x4 5.9 and I just had my egine light turn on. I got the code P0601. I took it to Tuffys and they said it will be $1031 to fix! They said they need to replace my ecm. I looked online and found some to buy. My dad has some mecanical experince and he said we can do it ourselves. Is it easy to install a new ecm? I know that you can get it programed by ussing your vin and millage, but I don't want to run the rick of messing up my truck more than it is. The funny thing in runs just fine. I haven't felt any loss or hickups at all. Tuffy said that I was lucky it is still running. Please help a poor man make the right decession. I had to edit this. I was wrong about the code. It shows its a pcm error. Is this easy to fix? Am I getting rip off?

Last edited by Mic Wrath; 08-26-2009 at 12:20 AM.
Old 08-26-2009, 12:33 AM
lghtngblt02
The RAM Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 22 Likes on 10 Posts

Welcome to DF Mic! I am a little unfamiliar with the 01 Rams but I will move this over to the appropriate section for ya so you can get better input. Thanks for joining and good luck!

Old 08-26-2009, 12:45 AM
speeddemon31176
All Star

Bud a trained monkey can replace the ecm in our trucks. Disconnect the battery, then unplug the plugs on the ecm, then unbolt it from the firewall. bolt in new one, plug in plugs, reconnect battery. It is located on the passenger side of the firewall. A grand to fix eh. Another instance of gross ignorance on the part of another dishonest repair facility. It should be legal to shoot people who operate like this.

Old 08-26-2009, 12:54 AM