3rd Gen Ram Tech 2002-2008 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 2002 through 2008 Rams Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

03 ram defrost, vent , floor hvac problems

Old 02-15-2007, 02:38 PM
camaroboy8691
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 ram defrost, vent , floor hvac problems

hey guys , im new to this furom , and also new to dodge stuff , i just bought my first 03 ram 2500 quad cab with a ctd last week

id take is back to the dealer where i got it but hes in illinois and im in pa sooo here i am stuck

when i have the vent **** on one setting it may take a few minutes before it goes there , sometimes i can have it on defrost and it will only go to the floor vents no matter where the **** is , sometimes i can put it on defrost and it will go right there , sometimes i can put it on dash vents and it will go right away and same with floor vents

its just really wierd , i asked a few guys on this drag race furom i go on everyday and a few said it may be the blend air door , it just seems wierd and makes me think it may be the actual control **** that is fualty

anyone came across this yet?

thanks ted

Old 02-15-2007, 03:01 PM
BigNelly07
Professional
Default RE: 03 ram defrost, vent , floor hvac problems

sounds like a vacuum problem, since thats how most of the manual climate controls work.

Old 02-15-2007, 03:30 PM
camaroboy8691

thats what i tought vacumm being a chevy guy i wouldnt even ask this quesion

but being new to the dodge family i was told on this model with the cummins it does not have vacumm it is all electrical , i had the center dash off already to put a radio in it and the plug that goes into the back of the control unit looks fine

its just hard to belive that a truck with only 61,000 is having this wierd problem