1st Gen Dakota Tech 1987 - 1996 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 1st Gen Dakota.

318 swap wiring

Old 12-02-2016, 03:17 PM
snotnosedpunk
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 318 swap wiring

I am working on a 3.9 to 5.2 swap on a 93 4x4 5 speed and I am not sure about fuel injector wiring. I am connecting the 7 and 8 Pins to 17 and 18 on the pcm connector. I am just not sure what to do with the other wire on the injectors. Please help I have very little experience with any wiring. Feel free to dumb it down for me.

Old 12-02-2016, 07:25 PM
ragged89
All Star
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by snotnosedpunk
I am working on a 3.9 to 5.2 swap on a 93 4x4 5 speed and I am not sure about fuel injector wiring. I am connecting the 7 and 8 Pins to 17 and 18 on the pcm connector. I am just not sure what to do with the other wire on the injectors. Please help I have very little experience with any wiring. Feel free to dumb it down for me.
As I recall, there's a factory splice in the harness where the injector 12V feeds come together, in fact I think there's a 12V splice for each bank of cylinders (one on each side). The wires from the ground side of each injector go to the PCM. It's been a while, but I'm pretty sure I just ran the 12V side of the two new injector connectors to the 12V feed splice. Of course, you could also run a new 12V feed just for the 2 new injectors.

To find the splices, you'll need to unwrap the engine wire harness, starting near the injectors, until you find where several wires come together in a splice. Either visually, or using a volt/ohm meter, verify the wires in the splice go to the 12V side of the existing injectors. The wires should have 12V on them when the switch is in the run position. Once you verify that, you can add your new injector's 12V feed wire to the splice.