Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge SUVs > Dodge Durango > 1st Gen Durango
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Central Timer Module Tech Question

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 09-08-2008, 10:34 PM
Dips Dips is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Exclamation Central Timer Module Tech Question

Okay guys i suspect that the central timer module is has gone bad on my car? For anyone not familiar w/ this part it is a module that helps control headlights, tailights, door ajar chime noise, when your dome lights will turn on when doors open, rear windshield wiper, wiper intermitent speeds, that feature where your door locks lock auto after a certain distance, Remote Keyless Entry etc.

Now I go to school for auto mechanics, i used alldata to pull up some information about this central timer module and part of the R&R it says that you need a DBR3 scan tool to reprogram the new one that you get. Now is the reprogramming for the door lock feature and remote keyless entry? Does anyone know if u can just swap in the other one to get the headlights to work correctly and stuff.

Because as of now the headlights, taillights, cluster lights, just flicker on and off. You can hear the relay switching on and off. I know that the electrical wiring is working correctly, since they do turn on. Its also kinda weird that my Remote key doesn't work anymore, my rear wiper doesn't work anymore, the intermittent speeds don't work, my dome lights only turn on when the rear lift gate is open, my door locks don't lock anymore. This Central Timer Module is all in the wiring for all of these things. I just wanna know if i really need the scan tool to put this new part in to get my headlights working correctly because i can't drive at night w/ them flickering on and off every second.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:07 AM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is offline
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 13,942
Default

Sounds like you nailed the problem.

The answer to your question is you have to take it to the dealer and have the new one flashed to your D. They are the only ones that can do it. It costs about $480 and you need to take in all of your key FOB's when flashed to get them programed while they are there.

Sorry, but off to the Stealership for you......
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides, I hate everyone equally --- #1 V10 Club Member V10 Club

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:29 PM
Dips Dips is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

so i can't just put another one in and get my headlights working? cause im not really worried about the Remote Key and the doorlock feature, i just want to be able to get the headlights working
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-09-2008, 06:10 PM
DRO318's Avatar
DRO318 DRO318 is offline
Captain
2000 Dodge Durango
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 2000 Dodge Durango 5.2 mag
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 579
Default

The dealer has to install and setup the CTM for you. Unfortunately it is not just a part you can install .
__________________

275/45/20s+30X9.5's for the winter, Bilstiens, Moog ball joints, Personal made front grill, Custom made ram air, Tornado, Fuel Boss, Champion spark plugs, Accel ignition coil, new GMB water pump, 180 degree Jet T-stat, rebuilt trans with shift kit, PVC enhancer!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-2008, 06:22 PM
Dips Dips is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

man that's crappy, all it is; is 3 screws and 3 wire harness. How much do they charge for this? I know this is just a 15 minute job of 1 panel 3 screws, and a fat guy sitting in a chair w/ a scan tool
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-09-2008, 10:09 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 01 1500 4wd
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,179
Default

i can't say for sure what will or won't work in your case, but i can tell you about my limited experience with CTM on an 01 ram. my intermittent wipers were not adjusting the time delay, and were stuck on the fastest setting. i replaced multifunction switch, no change. i checked wiring, relays, etc. i replaced the CTM for $120, and had to make a choice of "standard ctm" or "highline ctm". the highline was for the remote, power, etc. since mine was a simple ST, it was the standard. i replaced it with no problem, although it didn't change my problem, which turned out to be missing fuse #13, labeled power windows or locks, which i don't have and incorrectly assumed was insignificant.

here's another way to look at it. if you buy it from dealer or junkyard and install it yourself, what's the worst that could happen.... some things might not work until you buy additional dealer programming.

so go for it. try a junkyard first. be sure the car it comes from has the same "loaded/all power" environment.
__________________
01 1500 Reg Cab 4wd 5.2 auto 3.55 285/75/16 steps tow hooks sc3815 180 3923 trans cooler filter posilok powertrax (removed) timbren britebox pioneer head rockford amp speaker cobra cb firestick hughes plenum water pump timing chain oil pump rear main hub bearings brakes shocks cracked dash cad bushings seals ujoints trackbar tcase Robert Griffin Trans
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:30 PM
eaglestorm eaglestorm is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Utah
Posts: 228
Default

you dont flash the cmt you are setting cust prefrences you can get on from a junk yard but it may have problems of it's own a new on should work your lights. but key fob wont work ctm is a first gen bcm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-10-2008, 10:25 AM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is offline
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 13,942
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashocker View Post
Sounds like you nailed the problem.

The answer to your question is you have to take it to the dealer and have the new one flashed to your D. They are the only ones that can do it. It costs about $480 and you need to take in all of your key FOB's when flashed to get them programed while they are there.

Sorry, but off to the Stealership for you......
The cost is in my message. Now you can try it and I would buy one new and install it. But I don't know if it will work without a flash.
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides, I hate everyone equally --- #1 V10 Club Member V10 Club

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-10-2008, 01:45 PM
Dips Dips is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Now can this problem be happening because of a new engine that i put into my truck? Are these related problems
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-11-2008, 12:51 PM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is offline
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 13,942
Default

If a new engine was installed then I would go for a vacume leak for sure.
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides, I hate everyone equally --- #1 V10 Club Member V10 Club

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2008, 12:51 PM
Reply
 
 
 




Tags
central, commins, ctm, dakota, dbr3, dodge, durango, interior, lights, location, modual, module, reprogram, scan, timer, tool

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:03 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2