Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge SUVs > Dodge Durango > 1st Gen Durango
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

oxygen sensor gone bad

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 03-17-2010, 09:36 PM
rusmannx rusmannx is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Default oxygen sensor gone bad

I just got this 01 Durango (5.9) today (given to me from my father-in-law) and knew it had a couple of problems.

It gives code P0302 code (mis-fire) but when it failed emissions testing they noted "Fuel Sys - o2 Heater" and "EGR Sys KEOR Failed".

Shouldn't a bad o2 heater throw a code too? I have check for codes myself using the method in the sticky and only get the P0302. Any thoughts?

Also, how many o2 sensors are on this thing and how do I determine which one has a bad heater?

Thanks for any help guys!

EDIT: I just ran the VIN and I have the 4.7, not the 5.9. I bet my father-in-law has been thinking wrong all these years
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!

Last edited by rusmannx; 03-19-2010 at 12:58 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-17-2010, 11:49 PM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is online now
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 13,941
Default

P0302 Cylinder #2 Misfire

You have 1 pre-cat and 1 post cat 02 sensor.


Give it a tune up with Champion Copper plugs gaped at .040, OEM wires or Mopar performance, cap and rotor with the upgraded Brass contacts (your local auto parts store). If it continues switch your injector with a different one and see if it throws a code with the other cylinder.

Most likely your issues are directly related to you tune up parts.
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides, I hate everyone equally --- #1 V10 Club Member V10 Club

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-18-2010, 01:13 AM
rusmannx rusmannx is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashocker View Post
P0302 Cylinder #2 Misfire

You have 1 pre-cat and 1 post cat 02 sensor.


Give it a tune up with Champion Copper plugs gaped at .040, OEM wires or Mopar performance, cap and rotor with the upgraded Brass contacts (your local auto parts store). If it continues switch your injector with a different one and see if it throws a code with the other cylinder.

Most likely your issues are directly related to you tune up parts.
he told me he just replaced the plugs and i found some boxes of NKG (or something like that) in the glove box. i'll try some champions and see where it gets me. also, where do i go for oem or mopar wires?

thanks.

Last edited by rusmannx; 03-18-2010 at 01:19 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-18-2010, 09:48 AM
shrpshtr325's Avatar
shrpshtr325 shrpshtr325 is offline
THE ULTI-MOD
Dodge Forum Moderator
2002 Dodge Durango
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Vehicle: 2013 Challenger R/T
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 19,006
Send a message via AIM to shrpshtr325
Default

dealer will have mopar(oem) wires, but msd 8mm (i think ) are just as good, if not better
__________________


-Phillip's Law: Four-wheel-drive just means getting stuck in more inaccessible places.

bikes?
live in NJ?
REAR WIPER CLUB MEMBER #2

Quote:
altair: I need something that lets me stab people in the face over the internet
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-18-2010, 10:23 PM
rusmannx rusmannx is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrpshtr325 View Post
dealer will have mopar(oem) wires, but msd 8mm (i think ) are just as good, if not better
thanks i will track some down.

any other thoughts on how to figure out which o2 sensor (heater actually) is the bad one? i think it is weird that the emission inspection stated it was bad but i am not able to pull a code. could it be something only seen when plugging into the computer?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-19-2010, 03:00 PM
shrpshtr325's Avatar
shrpshtr325 shrpshtr325 is offline
THE ULTI-MOD
Dodge Forum Moderator
2002 Dodge Durango
My Garage
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Vehicle: 2013 Challenger R/T
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 19,006
Send a message via AIM to shrpshtr325
Default

if the o2 sensor is heated it will have 4 wires going into it, i believe an unheated sensor has only 2, see if both sensors have 4 wires going to them and if only one of them does you have your answer, otherwise i would say i need the code to give you a better answer
__________________


-Phillip's Law: Four-wheel-drive just means getting stuck in more inaccessible places.

bikes?
live in NJ?
REAR WIPER CLUB MEMBER #2

Quote:
altair: I need something that lets me stab people in the face over the internet
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-19-2010, 06:17 PM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is online now
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 13,941
Default

He made a mistake. His motor is a 4.7L and there are no wires on that motor as it has coil overs.
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides, I hate everyone equally --- #1 V10 Club Member V10 Club

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2010, 03:22 AM
rusmannx rusmannx is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hydrashocker View Post
He made a mistake. His motor is a 4.7L and there are no wires on that motor as it has coil overs.
this is a true statement, however, is still need to figure out which of my 02 sensors (heater) has gone bad.

thanks for your help so far guys. this forum has been great!

EDIT: i called the dealership today and they tell me there are four o2 sensors?!?

EDIT2: i pulled #2 plug and guess what i found? RC12LC4
the gap is at .44 and the plug is soaking wet with gas. looks like coil #2 isn't firing. i am going to swap it with #4 and see if my code moves. i'll cap down to .40 while i'm at it.

Last edited by rusmannx; 03-20-2010 at 02:25 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2010, 04:00 PM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is online now
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 13,941
Default

Sounds like your on it!
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides, I hate everyone equally --- #1 V10 Club Member V10 Club

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2010, 06:12 PM
rusmannx rusmannx is offline
Rookie
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 51
Default

all plugs were .44 or so and they all looked amazing except for #2 (which besides being wet literally looked brand new).
i swapped #6 coil for #2 (while resetting the gaps), reset the computer and it fired and idles great!

it was making some smoke during take off the first few times but as it has been sitting for a couple years it could be bad gas. i filled it up and drove a few miles at varying speeds/accelerations and so far have had no other codes or stumbles.

i am going to borrow a friend's scanner to see if anything shows up, but so far we're looking pretty good.

more to come....
Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 06:12 PM
Reply
 
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:00 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2