See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Interior
Print Wikipost

2002 Dodge Durango Light Problem

Old 05-15-2010, 02:28 PM
ChaseDale3and8
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Dodge Durango Light Problem

Hello all. I'm new here. I'm having a problem with my wife's 2002 Dodge Durango SXT. She came home from work last night and told me that it started making a clicking noise then the dash lights went off. First thing I checked was the tail lights.

Not working. So I pulled the fuse. Didn't look blown, but put a new one in anyway. Still no dash, tail, or park lights. Ok, I started thinking that it's got to be the relay then. Pulled the horn relay out and just switched the two relays around. Still no lights. I noticed that the fog lights won't come on either. What the hell is wrong with this thing?

I am mechanically inclined but I'm not an electrician or much of a Dodge man either. I can't seem to find the answer anywhere, and just stumbled on to this site. Hopefully somebody here has had this problem before, or knows what it is so that I can get this fixed without having to pay those bandits at the stealership or garage. Thanks in advance! ...Joe

Old 05-15-2010, 02:38 PM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

sounds to me like the CTM is out, do the wipers work ok, what about the door locks? or the interior lights? just about all of these things are controlled by the CTM (ALOT is controlled by this unit), so when a bunch of seemingly unrelated systems start acting up, the ctm is the normal culprit (it controls the headlights, fog lights[so that the highs and fogs wont be on at the same time] and the tails and dash lights) if you buy a new one it NEEDS to be programed to your truck and its features by the dealer, make sure to bring your key fobs with you so that the dealer can program them to the new unit

Old 05-15-2010, 02:58 PM
ChaseDale3and8

Originally Posted by shrpshtr325