1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Water in my oil – ’02 Durango SLT

Old 03-11-2011, 12:44 PM
NWboater
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Water in my oil – ’02 Durango SLT

Hi. I just registered here – I am the proud owner of a 2002 Durango SLT with the small V8 (4.7?) This has been my favorite vehicle that I’ve ever owned and I want to protect it. I bought it used two or three years ago. Currently it has 89,000 miles and I believe it to be well maintained.

I had a BIG scare yesterday.

I went for an oil change, as I was overdue (had gone about 4,700 miles on Jiffy Lube bulk conventional oil). The Jiffy Lube guy showed be the white & watery gunk under the oil fill cap. I’m no mechanic and really didn’t know what I was looking at (never even seen a cap like that, with the big twisty plastic thing – I don’t change my own oil and had never seen it.) But he did say that he didn’t see any signs of a blown head gasket and maybe it was just condensation build up? He recommended an engine flush. I agreed, but they were out of the engine flush fluid so in the end it couldn’t be done. He wiped out the cap as best as he could, rinsed some extra oil through, then filled the oil.

I am worried, so I went on Google this morning and I ended up here. I have gathered some information so far. It sounds like that weird plastic screw thingy under the cap is designed to trap any water there. It also sounds like these vehicles may be prone to this under certain conditions such as frequent short trips.