2000 Durango No Bus code/stalling/Trans not shifting - DodgeForum.com


1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

2000 Durango No Bus code/stalling/Trans not shifting

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 05-16-2011, 09:45 PM
Mydurango
Mydurango is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1
Default 2000 Durango No Bus code/stalling/Trans not shifting

Ok so I have a 2000 Dodge Durango 5.9. It just dies at any given time while I'm driving, the check engine light comes on and it displays "no bus" in the odometer,I can't break or steer or anything and now on top of this issue the transmission will not shift and the fastest I can go is about 30 mph. My mechanic cannot pull any codes and from what I'm gathering this may be a bad PCM?? but would that cause the transmission to act up like this? I don't want to throw a new PCM in there just to find out the transmission is failing also. Can anyone who has experienced this please help me out? Thank you in advance for your help....

Also just got the water pump and manifold gasket repaired before this issue started up, and already put a new battery and tune up to try to resolve this issue.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2011, 01:22 AM
IndyDurango's Avatar
IndyDurango
IndyDurango is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,822
Default

You could search all ten thousand posts similar to yours.

Or you could indeed swap the PCM.

One of the above is more likely to happen than the other.

IndyDurango
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-2011, 11:23 AM
shrpshtr325's Avatar
shrpshtr325
shrpshtr325 is offline
THE ULTI-MOD
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toms River NJ
Posts: 19,240
Default

yes you need a new pcm, get that taken care of and we can go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-17-2011, 03:14 PM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker
hydrashocker is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GJ, Colorado
Posts: 14,216
Default

You could try to unplug the PCM harness and check to ensure there is no corrosion and that it's tight, but ensure you disconect the battery first. But most likely it's a bad PCM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-18-2011, 03:04 AM
IndyDurango's Avatar
IndyDurango
IndyDurango is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 4,822
Default

I was going to say that. However without effort to search, since that is in every other related post ("try the connections first"), I gave up without.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
gonefishin54321
1st Gen Ram Tech
5
08-19-2015 08:36 AM
V_pecak
Dodge Stratus
1
07-18-2015 11:43 AM
Pobin
Dodge Caravan
0
07-17-2015 05:54 PM
Kensai
1st Gen Durango
10
07-14-2015 08:26 PM
davebenn52
1st Gen Durango
0
07-08-2015 12:48 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send