p0505 idle air control system - DodgeForum.com



1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

p0505 idle air control system

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 06-08-2011, 04:40 PM
ICEMAN23
ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default p0505 idle air control system

Hi i have a 2000 durango RT about a year ago i went to start my car and it just died and smelt like gas i triead again and again the only way i could keep it running was to keep giving it gas untill it got warm then it would idle on its owne. sometimes
it will start right up with a real high idle and wont drop far a min or 2. my car starts up differant all the time. the other thing it does sometimes is while im driving and i let of on the gas the RPMs will go up a little and then just drop way down then go back up and back down again all by its self fluctuating from 600 rpms to 3000. sometimes the idle will stay so high and not come back down i will have alot of trouble stopping.
I have a code of p0505 (idle control system) i replaced the IAC, TPC, CPS, map sensor, did a compleat tune up. nothing has helped. i took it the air intake off and cleaned it and put a new gasket in. its been to a coup?e of shops no one can figure it out and the funny thing is that my car sometimes will go a day or two with no problems at all and the engine light while not come on.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2011, 04:52 PM
Frozen_Joker
Frozen_Joker is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Potosi, MO
Posts: 52
Default

If you ever replace a MAF sensor or TPS then its always best to reset your ECM. Did you try this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2011, 04:54 PM
Frozen_Joker
Frozen_Joker is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Potosi, MO
Posts: 52
Default

It still sounds exactly like a TPS to me. Maybe the one you put on was a faulty. You can get a new one in exchange.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:10 PM
samnbensdad
samnbensdad is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 682
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frozen_Joker View Post
If you ever replace a MAF sensor or TPS then its always best to reset your ECM. Did you try this?
No MAF on these trucks. No ECM either; it's a PCM.
Please be careful giving too much advice if you are just guessing...

But, you are correct, the PCM must be reset with a TPS exchange.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:23 PM
ICEMAN23
ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

I have reset the computer i cleaned the air intake sensor but i dont have any codes for any sensors being bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:28 PM
samnbensdad
samnbensdad is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 682
Default

When you replaced the IAC, did you clean the port? Sometimes you can get some pretty nasty carbon buildup in there that will restrict the movement of the IAC, causing it to stick. There is a write up in the FAQ section... http://dodgeforum.com/forum/1st-gen-...ttle-body.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2011, 08:40 PM
ICEMAN23
ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

yes i cleaned it real good. everything works i think there might be a short somewhere ive noticed it runs real rich it lugs real bad sometimes. that is what is driving me nuts its good sometimes and then bad.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-2011, 09:36 PM
ICEMAN23
ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

yes i cleaned it real good. everything works i think there might be a short somewhere ive noticed it runs real rich it lugs real bad sometimes. that is what is driving me nuts its good sometimes and then bad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-09-2011, 12:08 AM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker
hydrashocker is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: GJ, Colorado
Posts: 14,216
Default

P0505 Idle Air Ctrl Motor Circs


Anyway, have the Battery load tested.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2011, 03:29 AM
ICEMAN23
ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

I just got a new one. This weekend im going to go and take it all apart and clean and check the wires make sure everything looks good. I really thank all of u for your help.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
glhall1960
2nd Gen Dakota
13
11-10-2015 03:51 PM
xsparta11x
4th Gen Ram Tech
9
07-31-2015 09:24 AM
jasn
1st Gen Durango
4
07-23-2015 11:15 PM
Crytot
1st Gen Dakota
5
07-13-2015 06:26 PM
ydde1937
Dodge Caravan
0
07-06-2015 10:00 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:11 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send