Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge SUVs > Dodge Durango > 1st Gen Durango
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

p0505 idle air control system

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 06-08-2011, 03:40 PM
ICEMAN23 ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default p0505 idle air control system

Hi i have a 2000 durango RT about a year ago i went to start my car and it just died and smelt like gas i triead again and again the only way i could keep it running was to keep giving it gas untill it got warm then it would idle on its owne. sometimes
it will start right up with a real high idle and wont drop far a min or 2. my car starts up differant all the time. the other thing it does sometimes is while im driving and i let of on the gas the RPMs will go up a little and then just drop way down then go back up and back down again all by its self fluctuating from 600 rpms to 3000. sometimes the idle will stay so high and not come back down i will have alot of trouble stopping.
I have a code of p0505 (idle control system) i replaced the IAC, TPC, CPS, map sensor, did a compleat tune up. nothing has helped. i took it the air intake off and cleaned it and put a new gasket in. its been to a coup?e of shops no one can figure it out and the funny thing is that my car sometimes will go a day or two with no problems at all and the engine light while not come on.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-08-2011, 03:52 PM
Frozen_Joker Frozen_Joker is offline
Rookie
1989 Ford Bronco
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2011
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9L Magnum
Location: Potosi, MO
Posts: 52
Default

If you ever replace a MAF sensor or TPS then its always best to reset your ECM. Did you try this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-08-2011, 03:54 PM
Frozen_Joker Frozen_Joker is offline
Rookie
1989 Ford Bronco
My Garage
 
Join Date: May 2011
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Durango SLT 5.9L Magnum
Location: Potosi, MO
Posts: 52
Default

It still sounds exactly like a TPS to me. Maybe the one you put on was a faulty. You can get a new one in exchange.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:10 PM
samnbensdad samnbensdad is offline
Captain
2002 Dodge Durango
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 02 Durango SLT, 5.9L, AWD
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Frozen_Joker View Post
If you ever replace a MAF sensor or TPS then its always best to reset your ECM. Did you try this?
No MAF on these trucks. No ECM either; it's a PCM.
Please be careful giving too much advice if you are just guessing...

But, you are correct, the PCM must be reset with a TPS exchange.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:23 PM
ICEMAN23 ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

I have reset the computer i cleaned the air intake sensor but i dont have any codes for any sensors being bad.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:28 PM
samnbensdad samnbensdad is offline
Captain
2002 Dodge Durango
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Vehicle: 02 Durango SLT, 5.9L, AWD
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 681
Default

When you replaced the IAC, did you clean the port? Sometimes you can get some pretty nasty carbon buildup in there that will restrict the movement of the IAC, causing it to stick. There is a write up in the FAQ section... http://dodgeforum.com/forum/1st-gen-...ttle-body.html
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-08-2011, 07:40 PM
ICEMAN23 ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

yes i cleaned it real good. everything works i think there might be a short somewhere ive noticed it runs real rich it lugs real bad sometimes. that is what is driving me nuts its good sometimes and then bad.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-08-2011, 08:36 PM
ICEMAN23 ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

yes i cleaned it real good. everything works i think there might be a short somewhere ive noticed it runs real rich it lugs real bad sometimes. that is what is driving me nuts its good sometimes and then bad.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-08-2011, 11:08 PM
hydrashocker's Avatar
hydrashocker hydrashocker is offline
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Vehicle: 99' Ram 2500 V-10 Sport QC 4X4
Location: GJ, Colorado
Posts: 14,100
Default

P0505 Idle Air Ctrl Motor Circs


Anyway, have the Battery load tested.
__________________

Moto: I don't take sides, I hate everyone equally --- #1 V10 Club Member V10 Club

AKA....The Durango Section Godfather
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-09-2011, 02:29 AM
ICEMAN23 ICEMAN23 is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 12
Default

I just got a new one. This weekend im going to go and take it all apart and clean and check the wires make sure everything looks good. I really thank all of u for your help.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2011, 02:29 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails