1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

AC compressor short cycling

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2018, 07:25 PM
NW Redneck
Amateur
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Question AC compressor short cycling

My '98 5.9L AC compressor is short cycling, (runs 5-6 sec, off about 15-20 sec) and I just wanted to check with the 'brain bank' here to see if I'm overlooking something. This is the first time trying the AC since I got the vehicle. I'm an HVAC/refrigeration tech by trade but I do resi/commercial work & have almost no vehicle AC experience. Front & rear fans are working correctly. System has enough if not full charge. Can't run it long enough to know if it's %100, but standing pressure is about 85psi. Ambient temp is about *66F. Low side only gets down to about 30psi before compressor kicks out, high side to 110-120. I jumpered out the high & low pressure switches to eliminate them as the problem. According to the manual in the FAQ sticky above, I seem to be looking at a faulty electronic clutch cycling switch or PCM. There are no AC related fault codes on my reader. Anything else I should check before ordering a new cycle switch? Thanks in advance!

Old 05-04-2018, 03:02 PM
NW Redneck
Amateur

Update: after much giggle searching & testing, I jumpered the two blue wires at the cycling switch plug & the compressor runs steadily so it seems that cycling switch is shot. So far I have been unable to locate a replacement. Anyone have a source for one?

Old 05-04-2018, 04:26 PM
that_guy
Champion
Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

Sounds like it's low on refrigerant. The only way to know how much is in there is to evacuate and refill measuring how much goes back in.

Old 05-04-2018, 08:22 PM
NW Redneck
Amateur