1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

rear end slop. help

Search this Thread

Old 04-22-2012, 02:25 AM
krupaeric
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rear end slop. help

so today i decided to adjust my star bolt on my drums to see if that was my problem with my rear tires dragging a little now and then.so after i got it jacked up. i tried wiggling the tire up and down and side to side, and it wouldnt budge. but when i grabbed it and pulled on it, it moved in and out about an 8th of an inch on both sides. now im no expert but im pretty sure that there not supposed to move in and out like that. if anyone knows what my problem is, advise would be greatly appreciated. i called around to a few shops i know. and they wouldnt tell me a damn thing they wanted me to bring the truck in so they could look at it and charge me a fee. i also called around to quite a few junk yards in my area and noones got any durangos with useable rear ends. all they had were the 10 bolts. and i got a 12bolt 3.92 gear ratio. i saw on another forum that someone had a simillar issue and said its a carrier baring problem, and another guy said a spyder gear issue. or a pinnion issue. now i got about every tool a man could ask for besides a lift. and im willing to get my hands dirty. if its something i can do. i have never had to tear apart a rear end befor so im not fimillar with em. but i need help figuring out what the problem is. its not making any noise. its just slopy in and out. now i could be wrong but it doesnt seem right to me. i didnt tear my drums off but could it be that a nut is loose like a yoke nut. or doesnt it have one.

Old 04-22-2012, 11:22 AM
Mean Green
Champion
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Drop the cover and check for gear wear and check the thrust washers. If it is anything in the rear end and you decide to rebuild it make sure you follow directions to a T for bearing preload and gear lash. Oh and I bet if there is anything you'll need to buy more tools.