01 Durango keyless entry - DodgeForum.com


1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

01 Durango keyless entry

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 04-19-2013, 11:02 AM
thebenman28's Avatar
thebenman28
thebenman28 is offline
Amateur
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 25
Cool 01 Durango keyless entry

Another question I keep forgetting to ask on here....both key fobs suddenly stopped working a while back. Went and got a couple new batteries, still nothing. It's as if there are no batteries in them. Is there a way to trouble shoot / reset these? Or do I have to take to the dealer? I know, sounds petty when I have the whole rear end apart, but I love my keyless entry. Thanx guys!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2013, 03:46 PM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy
that_guy is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA or Columbia, SC
Posts: 3,585
Default

If you had one that was still working you could reprogram the other ones on your own, but since none are working you'll have to take it to the stealer or call a locksmith. The locksmith should be able to do it for a lot cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-07-2013, 11:18 PM
jtorti's Avatar
jtorti
jtorti is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Default 01 Durango keyless entry

I have the same problem with my keyless entry on my 01 Durango R/T. Both key fobs stopped working at the same time. They worked intermittently for a week or so and then just stopped locking/unlocking the doors. Both remotes test fine (transmitting and batteries are fine) but it just appears that the vehicle no longer receives the signal. I believe that the keyless entry is controlled through the BCM but everything else works fine so I'm thinking that it could be something else. Did you ever figure out what was happening with yours?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-10-2013, 11:27 AM
that_guy's Avatar
that_guy
that_guy is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA or Columbia, SC
Posts: 3,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtorti View Post
I have the same problem with my keyless entry on my 01 Durango R/T. Both key fobs stopped working at the same time. They worked intermittently for a week or so and then just stopped locking/unlocking the doors. Both remotes test fine (transmitting and batteries are fine) but it just appears that the vehicle no longer receives the signal. I believe that the keyless entry is controlled through the BCM but everything else works fine so I'm thinking that it could be something else. Did you ever figure out what was happening with yours?
Sounds like your CTM is the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-14-2013, 08:46 AM
DJMikeT
DJMikeT is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Jackson, Texas
Posts: 11
Default

I'm having this exact same issue as well, it started about 2 weeks ago. My keyless entry works only intermittently and both fobs are good (replaced batteries just to be sure). Identical sympthoms as jtori mentioned above. I figured it must be the module on the vehicle receiving the signal. So my question is do you have to replace the entire CTM to fix the issue???
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-14-2013, 10:10 AM
Old_School's Avatar
Old_School
Old_School is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJMikeT View Post
So my question is do you have to replace the entire CTM to fix the issue???
Yes, and i am pretty sure dash removal is required to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-14-2013, 11:11 AM
DJMikeT
DJMikeT is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Jackson, Texas
Posts: 11
Default

No dash removal required it's located on the drivers side kick panel, very easy to get to. Was just looking for verification that the CTM controls the Keyless Entry and I've done some more reading and found that this is true. Looking for the best prices on the part now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2013, 12:07 AM
Old_School's Avatar
Old_School
Old_School is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,918
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJMikeT View Post
No dash removal required it's located on the drivers side kick panel, very easy to get to. Was just looking for verification that the CTM controls the Keyless Entry and I've done some more reading and found that this is true. Looking for the best prices on the part now.

Good they changed that in 01, that will make it easier for you.. 98-00's have them buried up in the dash....
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-18-2013, 09:17 PM
jtorti's Avatar
jtorti
jtorti is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for all your help. I was afraid that was the problem but it seemed crazy that the door locks would be the only thing to fail when the module controls so much on the vehicle. It does not seem worth it to replace the module just to get the keyless entry back (I can still unlock all the doors by turning the key twice in the door lock). I would also have to pay to have the remotes reprogrammed after replacing the CTM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-26-2013, 12:23 AM
DJMikeT
DJMikeT is offline
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake Jackson, Texas
Posts: 11
Default

Well I'm having some weird issues now. OK first of all like I mentioned above my door locks worked intermittently and then quit working all together. I've been really busy so I just drove it the way it was. Then suddenly my passenger side rear brake light quit working. Tail lights work fine but no brake signal on that side. I removed the light fixture and replaced both bulbs and still the same issue. So I quit driving it thinking my entire light system may go out at any time. I ordered a CTM from EBay that was the exact same make and model number and installed it today and I'm still having the exact same issue. Do you guys think I purchased a bad CTM or could something else be the culprit? Tomorrow when I'm off I will check for voltage to the rear brake lamp, if I don't get anything I was thinking of taking the CTM module to the dealership and see if they can test for me to determine if that's the issue. If anyone has any other insight I'd greatly appreciate it.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
sccarally
South West
1
08-21-2015 09:23 PM
cougarmt
2nd Gen Neon
5
08-14-2015 05:18 PM
JVOLLEY1
3rd Gen Dakota general discussion
4
08-09-2015 08:32 PM
Flet
Dodge Journey
2
07-29-2015 01:35 PM
dans7062
Dodge Stratus
2
07-26-2015 09:29 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send