1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

coolant drip leak - pax wheel well / '03 5.9 Durango

Old 10-06-2015, 08:07 PM
frodiggs
Amateur
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default coolant drip leak - pax wheel well / '03 5.9 Durango

Very excited - just picked up an '03 5.9 for the wifey at an auction. Body/interior looks amazingly clean for 191k. I'm not that experienced mechanically but learning and getting more confident doing stuff. Excuse any misterms here, No jack or stands to use currently. Working on the car before it hits the road so not driven.

I have a coolant leak that happens for a few mins. after I turn off the car. It does not drip constantly but for maybe 20 mins after. It's dripping at the pax wheel well from 3 lines coming down then over (rear climate control areas?) at some connection points (see pic). Slow steady drip.

Heat is good in front but cold in rear cabin and back.

What's the name of these lines and connection and what is the fix? Seems i need to remove the wheel and liner.

Perhaps somewhat related seems i have the AC drain issue. Very large pool of water in the pax floor after running the car and heat yesterday. Pulled the rug and dried things out so far. Good thing is the issues are very close together in proximity.

tia

Attached Thumbnails coolant drip leak - pax wheel well / '03 5.9 Durango-wp_20151005_15_00_45_pro-small.jpg  
Old 10-07-2015, 09:03 PM
that_guy
Champion
Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts

Those aluminum lines look more like ac lines to me. I think I can see a coolant hose next to the aluminum lines though.

Old 10-08-2015, 08:13 AM
shrpshtr325
THE ULTI-MOD
Received 33 Likes on 31 Posts

those appear to be the lines for the rear hvac unit, they should go from a small electric pump on or near the firewall to the rear heater core/ac condensor, im not sure if they are one piece or multiple to make the run from front to back.

Old 10-08-2015, 10:54 AM
frodiggs
Amateur