1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

rough idle after tuneup

Search this Thread

Old 05-23-2016, 12:51 PM
elheffy
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rough idle after tuneup

Hi
I have a 2001 Durango with 120,000, 5.9 SLT, I have plenty of experience working on my d..complete front end work, propeller shaft, shocks, shackles, etc. I did all with no problems, a tune up is a walk in the park.
I felt a little shutter figured I would do a tuneup, what could go wrong! By the way no check engine light....firing order is correct

I did complete tune up wires, cap, rotor, plugs, and a new coil...initially I put in Autolite double platinum plugs, my d was bucking and spitting...did some research and found out that some vehicles don't like those plugs, so I changed them to regular platinums {that is what was in the d originally}and the d ran better but still had rough idle at start and would spit and sputter at low speed and go away at higher speed, did check of tps with multimeter all three steps passed and I still put a new one in still had some spitting at idle and low speed. D starts right up no problem. put d on a hand held diagnostic machine nothing out of the ordinary and still no check engine light.... did basic checks IAC and MAP really no symptoms...this engine has no egr valve, did I forget something any ideas would be really appreciated...thanks in advanced and still no check engine light!!!!

Old 05-23-2016, 01:00 PM
HeyYou
Administrator
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 3,171 Likes on 2,924 Posts

Some of the trucks don't like the rare-earth plugs at all..... Best to just go with standard copper plugs.

I would recheck wire routing, verify firing order, just for giggles. (I have overlooked that, even after checking it three times.......)