Throttle Position Sensor Replacement - DodgeForum.com



1st Gen Durango 1998 - 2003 Durango's

Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 07-08-2004, 04:20 PM
Kensai's Avatar
Kensai
Kensai is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,617
Default Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

I am getting tired of that cruise control surging my engine RPM's 100-200 RPM's. So based from what other owners did to fix this was to replace the throttle position sensor. The dealer cannot figure this out. If there are no codes, then there are no problems.

So anyone ever changed out a TPS themselves? Anything I need to know beforehand before and after I change this out?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-08-2004, 06:53 PM
rockadaous
rockadaous is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N.C.
Posts: 240
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

plug and play. it'll take longer to get it out of the box than installing it. good luck
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-10-2004, 06:59 PM
Kensai's Avatar
Kensai
Kensai is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,617
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

Welp, that solved it! If anyone has any engine surges while on cruise control, go get your Throttle position sensor changed! Even if the stupid computer does not report any problems with the TPS. That's why the dealership won't replace it if the computer says there is nothing wrong! I went out to NAPA auto parts and bought a $37 TPS replacement. Swap it out in less than a minute! Rockadaous wasn't kidding on how fast the install was. Just 2 hex screws to unscrew and that's it. Best to do this when the engine is cold so you won't get baked from the engine heat or get burned accidently. No more random engine RPM surging when on cruise control! I was worried my MPG will come down because of it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-10-2004, 10:01 PM
rockadaous
rockadaous is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: N.C.
Posts: 240
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

glad to hear your D is up and running. Makes you sick to pay that much $$$$ for something that isn't running right.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-10-2004, 10:41 PM
Kensai's Avatar
Kensai
Kensai is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,617
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

These are the quirks you have to deal with I guess. Everything is so computerized, I cannot really blame the dealership as they have a set of guidelines they have to follow from Chrysler/Dodge company. I blame Chrysler more than anything. Even the dealer admits this is an ongoing problem not only on Durango's and Dakota's, but also the RAM trucks as well. I know Chrysler is aware of this and they won't do anything about it until someone gets hurt and it is all over the news. And there is not much the dealership can do if the diagnostics came back clean on their system. I am just happy that TPS was not an expensive part and this part is something a regular consumer with basic know how can replace themselves. I only have 5k left on my extended warranty so I am milking it for all I can get out of it! Already got a return heater pipe that is attached to the water pump that is slightly leaking antifreeze. Gonna take it back to the dealer to see if it can qualify under my extended warranty. Else, I'll have to do it myself.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-16-2007, 07:38 PM
SkyboltAl
SkyboltAl is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location:
Posts: 6
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

Man, I guess I just keep getting hosed by my dealer. Replaced 3 TPS's at $1200 each. They only last me 12.5 months on average. The dealer says that nobody else's ever burns out. I feel very unique and special.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-17-2007, 12:53 AM
Kensai's Avatar
Kensai
Kensai is offline
Champion
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 2,617
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

Quote:
ORIGINAL: SkyboltAl

Man, I guess I just keep getting hosed by my dealer. Replaced 3 TPS's at $1200 each. They only last me 12.5 months on average. The dealer says that nobody else's ever burns out. I feel very unique and special.
Welcome to the forums.

Question: $1200 each?????????????????????????? I am sure you placed that decimal point somewhere. Otherwise, I'll make a flight over to your house and change your TPS personally for $1200. Some dealerships usually cover the part for 3 years unless the TPS is not under the 3 year part plan. Other than that, if the number two TPS goes out and it was from dealer, I'd be looking to buy a replacement TPS from aftermarket. I bought my TPS from NAPA auto parts. Cannot remember how much, but it was reasonable. I think around $35-$40?? 5 minute self install.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-29-2008, 12:30 AM
restlesswynd
restlesswynd is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 24
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Kensai

Quote:
ORIGINAL: SkyboltAl

Man, I guess I just keep getting hosed by my dealer. Replaced 3 TPS's at $1200 each. They only last me 12.5 months on average. The dealer says that nobody else's ever burns out. I feel very unique and special.
Welcome to the forums.

Question: $1200 each?????????????????????????? I am sure you placed that decimal point somewhere. Otherwise, I'll make a flight over to your house and change your TPS personally for $1200. Some dealerships usually cover the part for 3 years unless the TPS is not under the 3 year part plan. Other than that, if the number two TPS goes out and it was from dealer, I'd be looking to buy a replacement TPS from aftermarket. I bought my TPS from NAPA auto parts. Cannot remember how much, but it was reasonable. I think around $35-$40?? 5 minute self install.
How easy is it to replace the TPS Sensor? Where is it located? I need to replace mine as well.

Thanks,
Rando

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-21-2008, 08:49 PM
Doctor Holliday
Doctor Holliday is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

I had this same problem, the engine blipping about 200 rpm during cruise control. Also, I had a surging problem at idle at the same time. The fix was new throttle position sensor and idle air control. A friend of mine who has a garage did it for about 200 bucks total. I could do it myself, but didn't have time at the time.

According to him, he got a code on it. I've subsequently gotten idle speed codes from a check engine light when I've scanned the OBDII. Either the idle air control is going out again, or I've got a vacuum leak somewhere. I'll wait until it codes differently. Otherwise, I just clear the code, because it just says engine didn't reach expected idle speed.

And my idiot dealer couldn't figure out the TPS problem either.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-21-2008, 10:29 PM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan
dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,203
Default RE: Throttle Position Sensor Replacement

if its the same as the ram (probably is) its on the side of the throttle body, drivers side. 2 #25 torx screws and an electical connector. might have to remove the air cleaner, might not.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
95Ram2500v10
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
02-01-2016 12:09 AM
john_2216
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
11-09-2015 10:42 PM
roadhammer1971
2nd Gen Ram Tech
16
07-07-2015 12:12 PM
ydde1937
Dodge Caravan
0
07-06-2015 10:00 PM
barrd70
2nd Gen Dakota
0
07-05-2015 02:23 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send