Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Cars > Dodge Intrepid > 1st Gen Intrepid
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


1st Gen Intrepid 1993 through 1997 Intrepids

Transmission Control Module Location?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 01-29-2010, 10:42 AM
97Intrepid35 97Intrepid35 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default Transmission Control Module Location?

Anyone know where the transmission control module is located in a 97 dodge intrepid 3.5L?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2010, 10:59 AM
92dak5.24x4 92dak5.24x4 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 454
Default

under hood behind left headlight, that's where I'd look
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2010, 02:24 PM
97Intrepid35 97Intrepid35 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

behind battery? I pulled that earlier thinking it was ecu but wasnt. Has plug in in the middle?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2010, 03:45 PM
92dak5.24x4 92dak5.24x4 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 454
Default

PCM behind right headlight.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2010, 10:58 PM
97Intrepid35 97Intrepid35 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

hmm.. behind right headlight? sorry maybe im being dumb but if its the box behind right light under air box? Autozone's computers said that was the ECM. The two other boxes I located were 1. next to glove box above kick panel inside dash. And 2. one behind battery of left(drivers side) fender in front of wheel well. Maybe there's more but I havnt located them yet. I hear there's one in the trunk? The ECM, I went to junk yard and picked one up but my car does same thing with either ECM I have.

BTW I'm pulling codes : P0733 - Gear 3 Ratio Incorrect & P0700 - Transmission Control System Malfunction.

SYMPTOMS : Car slips when hitting 3rd gear(1st and second smooth and strong), jutters and then goes into "limp" mode. Only have 1st gear and reverse after this happens(if i turn car off and back on it does same thing). I have read around and eliminated fluid(did not smell burnt nor brown) also flushed transmission with fresh ATF+4. Speedo works so output sensor works right? I am at TCM and input sensor, or possibly TPS sensor so I've read. Car only has 108,000

Sorry I busted all this on you but you were an open mind who responded and thanks alot!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-29-2010, 11:04 PM
97Intrepid35 97Intrepid35 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

If I could delete the other post I would.. sorry 92dak ur only one responding in both lol
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:24 AM
92dak5.24x4 92dak5.24x4 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 454
Default

PCM= ECM = ECU = engine computer = ............ I guess I'm the only one willing to endure the agony of trying to extract WTF is actually wrong and you "busted all this..." FINALLY gave sufficient information to determine what the problem is. First why are you wanting to mess with the trans computer for an internal transmission failure? any slipping of these transmissions isn't due to a computer problem. But hey if it floats your boat to throw parts at it without using proper diagnostic proceedures, go for it. Proper diagnostic proceedures STARTS with having the appropriate service manual (no not a haynes, chilton or other generic autozone repair book)... BTW, When it goes to limp mode, you do NOT have 1st gear, you have 2nd
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-30-2010, 11:21 AM
97Intrepid35 97Intrepid35 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

maybe it is 2nd gear.. but car takes off as if it is in 1st gear. Still has quick acceleration. I've heard around and other people have fixed this problem with out a rebuild or replacement. P0700 states its a Transmission Control Malfunction. <--thats why i am going to try the trans computer. Usually when its internal its a either a solenoid which i would think would throw the code P0733 and P0734. Unless it just the band... but I'm not taking to get a 80$ diagnostic, when I may need that for parts. And any transmission shop no matter the problem tells you "The transmission needs to be rebuilt" . I've even heard of people getting transmission rebuilt it works fine for a bit but then throws the same codes before tranny was rebuilt. I'm trying to eliminate all those before hand. If I can get 1 of those codes to go away I will be making progress. If I am going to replace it, I will do it myself anyway. I'm going to spend around 80$ replacing these parts, then if i do replace the trans i will know its not any of the things I replaced. There is a another intrepid in my town that got in an accident(only 75000) and I'm getting the parts rather cheap. I'm just a trial and error kind of guy. I will repost when I get these parts installed and let you know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-30-2010, 10:19 PM
92dak5.24x4 92dak5.24x4 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 454
Default

Well, I'm done helping you. I've told you what needs to be done, what's wrong with your car and how to go about solving the problem. I can tell you really don't know much about transmissions but are pretending too. You eliminate problems by PROBLEM SOLVING not throwing parts at the problem hoping it fixes it. So feel free to install a trans computer, get the (imaginary) bands adjusted... an "usually" when there's a problem a technician uses a service manual, follows the very well written flow chart to deduce the exact cause and never just assume it's the solenoids. I hear of people being told all the time that their transmission is shot... because the general population is oblivious to anything but themselves... their Ipod, their text messaging and what ever other gadget they can get that isolates them for actually doing something productive. How you come across in a shop makes a HUGE determination if you will get your car fixed right or get your car fixed w/o lubricant!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-31-2010, 04:16 AM
97Intrepid35 97Intrepid35 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 92dak5.24x4 View Post
Scrap prices are up right now... Didn't you test drive the car before you bought it? without having enough mechanical knowledge or proper diagnostic equipement, solving your delema on the internet is nearly impossible.
that's was your solution? Or some books somewhere? I don't even have a haynes or chilton.. lol how bout that! I am that confident Btw got the transmission shifting properly today, had the TCM reprogrammed for 80$ and there it goes! Turns out transmission had been replaced..(spoke with previous owner) nice internal problem eh? It wasnt "slipping". Misused word maybe?
Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 04:16 AM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:43 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails