Speedometer cable - DodgeForum.com


1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Speedometer cable

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 02-01-2010, 03:44 PM
Dodge_Ram_3500's Avatar
Dodge_Ram_3500
Dodge_Ram_3500 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 464
Default Speedometer cable

Wondering where the speedometer cable connects into on my truck? Its a 4x4 with cruise. Is it on the transfer case of the cruise control? Also, my cruise has stopped working along with the speedometer, you guys think its just the cable or the cruise "sphere" thing (for lack of a better word) Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-01-2010, 04:36 PM
SEAL
SEAL is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bent Mountain Va
Posts: 2,640
Default

The 90-91 models used an electronic speedometer with no cable I think. 1989 was the transition year where some used a cable and some used the electronic speedometer.

Last edited by SEAL; 02-01-2010 at 04:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2010, 11:35 AM
Dodge_Ram_3500's Avatar
Dodge_Ram_3500
Dodge_Ram_3500 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 464
Default

Hmmmm, ok. I wonder where to start with fixing my speedometer then, its not working at all, nor is the cruise, but all the other gauges on the dash work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2010, 02:31 PM
SEAL
SEAL is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bent Mountain Va
Posts: 2,640
Default

You have a speedometer gauge, a distance sensor (VSS), an adapter and pinion in the tranny, and the connecting wiring. I don't have a wiring diagram of it to check and be sure but it may also go thru the computer.
I would first check the fuse it is on.
I would then check the wiring and connections to make sure they are OK.
Then read the pins of the sensor. There should be continuity. If it is open it is bad.
If that doesn't find it, a good wiring diagram should tell you what the voltage should be on the associated pin on the computer.

Last edited by SEAL; 02-03-2010 at 02:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-07-2010, 02:41 PM
Dodge_Ram_3500's Avatar
Dodge_Ram_3500
Dodge_Ram_3500 is offline
Veteran
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 464
Default

Thanks man!
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Winchested
3rd Gen Ram Tech
6
10-16-2015 04:46 PM
trogg
3rd Gen Ram Tech
3
10-15-2015 08:53 PM
BigBlueEdge
4th Gen Ram Tech
10
09-28-2015 09:12 AM
hflak
Dodge Ram Van
5
09-27-2015 07:40 AM
Chiriqui
2nd Gen Ram Tech
17
09-26-2015 09:00 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send