1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Suspension Lift-DIY or Not?

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2013, 12:55 PM
jcruse64
Rookie
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension Lift-DIY or Not?

I want to lift my '93 W-150 ext cab long bed, and am looking at the 4" (all leaf) lift from Rough Country. I've priced it to 2 or 3 local shops for parts and install, but I'm also thinking about DIY install. I have plenty of space to tackle it, and have or can get the needed tools. But I've never tried anything like this before; closest was swapping axle out on a '63 Chevy truck many years ago.

I've read through several threads on here since I joined up, regarding lift kits, and was wondering how many of you DIY, and what the degree of difficulty was. Also wondering what else I should be looking at replacing while doing this job. I've also talked myself into the Borgeson upgrade. I see also that my steering box is pretty greasy, and may need swapped, so I'll probably go after that as well. Do I need to address anything else in my steering or brakes while I'm doing a 4" suspension lift? I will probably pick up the higher priced shocks they offer with their 4" lift kit.

Thanks in advance for any advice on this.

Joe Cruse

Old 06-24-2013, 02:01 PM
crazzywolfie
Legend
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts

i don't know if i would recommend a rough country lift kit. they give you new springs for up front which is great but they give you 3" blocks for the rear. i am not sure of this but i think you may already have blocks back there so to get close to the 4" of lift you want you would have to stack blocks which could get dangerous.

as far as steering goes you may want to see how the steering feels after you do your upgrades before you go replacing the steering box.

Old 06-24-2013, 05:13 PM
jcruse64