1st Gen Ram Tech '93 & older Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve 1993 Rams and older. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1986 Dodge Ram W150 Ignition Problem

Old 08-24-2013, 09:16 PM
austin.colby
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 1986 Dodge Ram W150 Ignition Problem

Hello everyone. I just joined the site and this is my first dodge that I have owned but am having some issues with it. It appears to have the Lean Burn Computer system and am running into an idling/running issue when warm. When I bought the truck, it definitely was apparent that the previous owner loved to chop and splice wires (lots of wire nuts and electric tape throughout the engine harness). Since this is my first time diagnosing the issue with an unfamiliar vehicle, I just wanted to get some thoughts from the community...

1986 Dodge W150 4x4 w/ 360ci engine
Edelbrock 650 cfm carb
Edelbrock performer intake
Electronic Spark Control System (Lean burn from what I can tell)

The truck starts and runs fine but when it seems to warm up, it won't idle unless I give it about 1/4 choke. The coil voltage while running is approximately 3 volts but have 14 at the battery and voltage regulator appears to be functioning. I found a ballast resistor with one wire laying on the back of the intake so I guess it's not hooked up and at this point, am just considering converting it over to the standard ignition control module setup. Before I go to that length, are there any suggestions on things to check?