2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

1. P1740 - TCC or O/D Solenoid Performance

Old 06-04-2005, 08:26 PM
DougsDodge
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1. P1740 - TCC or O/D Solenoid Performance

Just to get a few things out of the way:
Bad- My first post here
Good or bad depending on perspective: I'm a Dodge dealer Mechanic
Good- I don't need help in this post, hopefully I'm giving it.
Good- I've already been on 2 other car forums for 2+ years and know how to play nice.

OK, now that we're through with that...

I have an 00 Ram 1500 4x4 5.9L Gas with the above mentioned code. I've searched through the TSB's at work as well as on here and a few other sites catering to us truck owners. There were a few things I found consistant. 1. The 46RE sucks/needs lots of attention, 2. the above code is pretty common, 3. There isn't a clear fix for the condition every single time like the blown intake plenum pan gasket.

Not knowing everything I followed the steps of many before me when trying to fix this code and have failed at most every turn. First I found the fluid nasty and low. I topped it off knowing that would probably not fix the condition (which it didn't). Next I research the TSB about the plate hole change, I asked other techs at work who actually rebuilt trans on a regular basis (I don't) and was told where to begin my little adventure.

First I started with a valve body. I changed my filter, flushed the system and put in the valve body. I was told that 90% of the time the revised valve body plate wouldn't fix the code. The new valve body came with multiple components that were at least in the ball park for addressing this code. That didn't fix it.