2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Replacing a filler neck

Old 09-17-2010, 11:10 AM
ludothegreat
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing a filler neck

I need to replace my fuel filler neck on my 95'. I am new to all of this, but have confidence that I am able to change it myself with the right guidence. I ordered my neck, but only received the part. No clamps, hoses, or any extra hardware. My current setup has been cobbled together by the previous owner and I am assuming has little or no original parts on it as it looks like a rubber washing machine hose and some Duck tape.

Before I get started on this, I am just wondering what other hardware I m going to need once I get under there, assuming I need to replace it all. The tank itself looks pretty solid as does most of the tubing after the neck.

Any tips or suggestions would be great as well.

Old 09-17-2010, 12:13 PM
sk8erdude
Veteran

if you need new tubing you have to get a special kind. goodyear makes it i know. you will also need 4 hose clamps, 2 smaller, 2 larger. im not sure the exact size.

Old 09-17-2010, 12:15 PM
zman17
Retired Moderator - RIP
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

The tubes connect to the tank with a couple short pieces of hose and some clamps. Open the fill door and you'll see screws that hold the top of the filler tube . Remove the tape and clean up things as best you can, so you can have a better view of what the PO did.

Old 09-17-2010, 04:23 PM
ludothegreat