Dodge Intrepid The sporty car that recently left the Dodge lineup, the Dodge Intrepid. With it's smooth look and comfortable ride, the Dodge Intrepid can still command attention.

2.7 Connecting rod install question

Search this Thread

Old 10-11-2010, 06:52 PM
jimifanwing
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2.7 Connecting rod install question

Hello everybody, I am a newbie and this is my first post here. I have done unsuccessful searches specific to my question so I am checking with you guys. I did a total rebuild on my 2.7 (99 Intrepid) 3 years ago. I just spun a rod bearing and need to replace the rod (along with crankshaft, bearings, oil & water pump,ect.) Anyway, I just pulled and replaced my heads and would love to avoid that, so my question is has anyone just eased the piston down far enough to remove the snap pin and wrist pin (from below)to replace the rod? Without the pan off and crank removed I can't really tell the exact "working room" available, but studying the drawings in the service manual seems to encourage me. I guess I will find out this weekend one way or another, but was curious if any other members tried this particular approach. It sure would save time and cost of head gaskets and perhaps head bolts. Sincere thanks for any info on this, I appreciate your time.

Old 10-27-2010, 01:13 PM
jimifanwing