3rd Gen Dakota 2005 - 2011 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 3rd Gen Dakota.

Axle/axle shafts cause vibration?

Old 05-16-2011, 05:56 PM
Backwoods18
Record Breaker
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Axle/axle shafts cause vibration?

I have been chasing this vibration for a couple months. Rebalanced all four tires twice. They balanced fine, wheel bearings are not making any noise. Get up to 45+ MPH and there is a faint vibration. 65 MPH it gets worse, like a warped rotor shakes. Replaced calipers and rotors up front a month ago. Hit a bump, it gets worse and stays bad even when slowing down. (almost like a death wobble but it's not.) What the H311 can this vibration be. I am seriously thinking about trading her in if I can't figure this out.

Old 05-16-2011, 08:09 PM
jkeaton
DF Admin
Dodge Forum Administrator
Received 334 Likes on 298 Posts

you would hear clicking sounds going around corners if it was the cv joints. sounds most definitely speed related if it gets worse with speed. did it vibrate before you plasti dipped the wheels? just thinking out loud here. have you got up to 65 or so, with it vibrating, and put it in neutral to let the RPM's drop? does the vibration go away or still there (you can narrow it to the driveline this way), try rotating the tires. is it in the steering wheel or seat of the pants? Cant imagine warped rotors causing a vibration if your not on the brakes at the time. the death wobble thing concerns me, how to your front end parts (tie rods, end links, ball joints, etc) look? Have you checked your driveshaft for missing weights? Do you hear any noises? clicking, chirping, grinding?

Last edited by jkeaton; 05-16-2011 at 08:14 PM.
Old 05-16-2011, 08:11 PM
Eimer123
Record Breaker
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I know there are plenty of items that cause vibrations, and you can chase them for ever. It can get costly trying to find the issue.