2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

fuel pump not priming/fuel system problems.

Old 08-01-2011, 11:10 AM
mackiereese
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fuel pump not priming/fuel system problems.

Hello everyone, my name is moe. I am new to dodge forum. 1 week ago I purchasded used 99 dodge ram 1500 5.2 litre , with 127000 miles on it . It seemed like it was a solid truck except needing an ac compressor. Before closing the deal I test drove truck, went about 80 miles. The truck seemed very strong and solid, everything seemed to work except ac. I closed the deal. On the way home stopped to get lunch, came out of store and truck would not start. It was turnig over really well but seemed like no gas was getting to the injectors. I told my wife to just turn the key forward without starting to see if I could hear fuel pump priming.Could not hear it, Nothing! Checked all fuses and relays pertaining to fuel pump every thing was good. I had to leave it at the store. Came back 2 hours later it started right up I heard the fuel pump prime before it started. I let it idle about 10 mins, went to put in reverse it died, tried to resart no fuel pump priming. I let it sit for about 45mins and it started right up got out of truck to close the bed door and it died again, so I had to leave at the store again. Came back about 4 hours later tried to start, nothing! Went across the street to have dinner, came back an 1 hr later it started right up. FInally got it home pulled into garage and turned it off and tried to start back nothing, could not hear fuel pump priming. It seemed like the pump was not being energized. Called a few places and described my problem everyone was saying that i needed a fuel pump one person said that i needed the pressure regulator. another said fuel filter. Unfor