Dodge Caravan The Dodge Caravan is the best selling mini van from Dodge. How many Dodge Caravan owners here at DodgeForum.com would agree? Discuss it now!

Caravan Shift solenoid depression syndrome

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2012, 11:15 PM
mamajettivan
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Caravan Shift solenoid depression syndrome

Hi there, I'm a newbie to the board and the world of Caravans. Okay, I'll admit it, I'm not a Dodge guy unless it's a classic. I've had people tell me to junk or sell this thing, but I really think it can be fixed properly. My girlfriend bought this 97 Grand Caravan that came with a "good" used 2000 tranny from the yard. I installed it on the ground in poor weather. I drove it a few hundered miles until it took a total dump on the turnpike. (Should have known better since the "good" transmission was growing things on it when I got it). I pulled the tranny, had the original rebuilt, and installed it. The guy told me to sell the van and be done with it, but it seems like such a nice van we hate to part with it. I put a few thousand miles on it, but had an intermittant problem with code p1776 solenoid switch latched in l-r position. This tended to happen after a lot of city driving and a heavy load uphill. Ok, in between the battery and alternator going out on me in subfreezing temperatures, I went to the yard and found a shift solenoid pack that looked pretty fresh. I would buy a new one, but who has money to throw away on a guess? I also bought a new gasket from the dealer to do the installation. Upon doing the installation I found that the new gasket was not compatible with the junkyard shift pack and the paperwork mentioned that there had been an upgraded shift pack built in 99. Ok, but I had the thing apart now and it was snowing so I figured I would put the solenoids in and just make sure it didn't leak with the old gaskets that hadn't torn. I lucked out and it held without a leak. Took it out a few times and pounded on it up some