2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

Lower Control Arm Replacement Issue

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2012, 05:19 PM
DgdNeon01
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lower Control Arm Replacement Issue

This is my first post and I try and do a lot of car work on my own but I'm no mechanic, so go easy on me.
My brother and I replaced the front right lower control arm assembly on my 2001 Dodge Neon last night. During the replacement we struggled to reinstall the new control arm, particularly getting the hub/rotor and the control arm ball bearing stub lined up and re-installed. We were really moving the hub/rotor around a lot inside the wheel housing, trying to re-position the hub/rotor up above the bearing and fighting the strut spring. We finally did get everything positioned and reinstalled. However, now while I'm driving down the highway at a constant speed there is a momentary skip/slip at a regular interval...it almost feels like hitting a little bump. Also, while slowing down (foot off the gas, letting the car coast), the engine will Rev and the car seems to momentarily accelerate at a regular interval and at idle I hear the engine click and it seems some vibrations pick up, then cycle back to normal, then click and cycle back to normal. Anyway, I think all three issues are related, but I'm not sure or if it would some how be related to the control arm replacement. I was wondering if anybody could offer any help.

Thanks guys,

DgdNeon01

Old 04-27-2012, 06:47 PM
Moparkyle
All Star

I wish I could relate the repairs you made to your car to what your describing, but I'm having a hard time doing so. Maybe you pulled the CV shaft out but I doubt it, it would probably make more of a grinding noise.

Old 04-27-2012, 07:30 PM
DgdNeon01