2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

AX15 Transmission

Old 06-06-2012, 10:34 PM
Brian_
Captain
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy AX15 Transmission

my trans is starting to pop out of 1st gear forcefully more and more frequently. it started a couple of days ago and scares me to drive it now. i know its the full way in gear because i am pushing it in as far as it goes, but it will pop out by it self and make a grinding metal on metal noise, until it pops itself out the whole way. not sure what to do besides plan on a rebuild which will be interesting because i have no experience in that area. any advice on what to do would be greatly appreciated and on what route i should take.

Old 06-06-2012, 10:53 PM
00DakDan
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts

You can try draining the transmission and checking the fluid. Expect to see lots of brass if the synchro's are gone, which is likely why you're popping out of gear.

Old 06-06-2012, 11:05 PM
Brian_
Captain

i did a change a few months back with some redline mt90 and had some shavings, what would be the other culprit besides synchros? anything i can do without tearing the tranny down?

Old 06-07-2012, 02:00 AM
98DAKAZ
Champion
Received 32 Likes on 30 Posts
Exclamation when?

Did the popping out of gear start when you changed the oil? I think popping out of gear was more of a shifter problem not synchros.

If so a change of oil may help the AX-15 takes a large amount of oil that’s what my truck has the AX-15.

I use the Mobile 1 oil that everyone under the sun says is bad for the synchros but after 4 years in my trans it still runs fine no synchro destruction. My only pain is second is hard to get into when cold after it warms up she is fine but this truck has always been that way, the lack of a reverse synchro sucks also.