2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

Replacing 2WD Dakota Front Lower Ball Joints

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 07:28 PM
sabres2332
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Replacing 2WD Dakota Front Lower Ball Joints

Once my local mechanic said it would be about $800 to replace a couple lower ball joints and tie rod ends I immediately took action in my own hands! I took my truck to my garage and lifted it, took off the tire, calipers, rotors and knuckles, and used the pickle fork to remove (dislodge) the ball joints from the control arm. This is a 2004 V8 4.7L and it's the trucks first ball joint replacement, which means the bolts that hold on the ball joints are the factory bolts! Looks like I have to cut off the bolts (Only way right?) I used a 7/32 Cobalt drill bit and drilled through the rusted bolts. That's where I stand, the ball joints wont budge. I'm pretty new to this, Never drilled out bolts before, so far I have beeen unsuccessful. Any help will benefit.

Thanks!

Old 02-13-2012, 11:43 PM
01SilverCC
Record Breaker
Received 16 Likes on 14 Posts

Welcome to the Forum...

The ball joints are not bolted in, they are riveted in place on the control arm. You have to drill out the rivets to remove the ball joints. Then you can install good quality bolt-in aftermarket parts like TRW or Moog. You need a cobalt or similar treated drill bit. I used a 7/16" bit from Home Depot on mine. I also used a set of smaller cobalt drill bits and drilled out successively larger holes in the rivet body until I finally drilled it out with the 7/16" bit, then the rivets fell out of the control arm. A light cutting oil would probably help you drill through the rivets too.

When I did my ball joints about two years ago I took my time with it over the course of a weekend and took some pics of the job. I posted a how-to with pics here:

https://dodgeforum.com/forum/2nd-gen...to-w-pics.html