Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Dakota > 2nd Gen Dakota
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Dakota 1997 - 2004 Dakota's

Does your Dak have an upper windshield seal?

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:17 AM
Jermbubba Jermbubba is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Vehicle: 2003 DAKOTA QUAD CAB
Location: SC
Posts: 12
Default Does your Dak have an upper windshield seal?

Most vehicles I have ever owned have has an upper windshield rubber seal. I just noticed while washing my 03 Dak that it does not. I check the LMC Catalog and they do sell a replacement. its about $20 . I've been watching the other Daks around here for a week. I noticed that there are others with out it as well. I have not noticed any leaks even with shooting water ontop to cause a leak. So the question is. is it not needed? does it come from the factory with or without the seal? Im thinking it might be a good idea to install one even if its not needed in order to prevent water from sitting in the gap and eventually causing rust.... Your thoughts? Do you have one on yours?
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-10-2012, 10:58 AM
Brian_'s Avatar
Brian_ Brian_ is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Vehicle: 01 Dodge Ram 1500 Sport Offroad Editon, 5.9L V8 Magnum Quad Cab, 4x4
Location: York, PA
Posts: 514
BrianAikey
Default

mine has one. you have a picture? thats sounds weird.
__________________

2.5" LK - 3" BL - 4.10s - 35x12.5x16.5s on Centerlines - 46RE Jasper Trans
- Cat Delete - Cherrybomb - 180* T-Stat - HemiFever SCT - 55w & 35w 6000k HIDs - JL Stealthbox

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-10-2012, 11:55 AM
Jermbubba Jermbubba is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Vehicle: 2003 DAKOTA QUAD CAB
Location: SC
Posts: 12
Default

it actually gives it a more sleek look lol
Attached Images
File Type: jpg zoomed.jpg (88.6 KB, 27 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:06 PM
dodgeramguy85's Avatar
dodgeramguy85 dodgeramguy85 is offline
Grand Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Vehicle: 02 Ram 2500 cummins
Location: Houtzdale,PA
Posts: 5,418
Michael Kokoskie
Default

I looked at pics of my old dakota and it had one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:50 PM
McNasy McNasy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Vehicle: 2001 Dakota sport Quadcab
Location: Sussex,WI
Posts: 461
Default

mine has one, thats where the rust started. now the rust put pressure on the seal and cracked the windshield. at least that is what the glass company told me.
__________________
when going in the ditch, some say "oh crap" and some say"hold my beer and watch this"
239000 miles and running; complete interior color change(went to black&blue suede); 10in overhead dvd; multimedia headunit; ; remote start/push to start ignition.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-10-2012, 04:06 PM
dirtbiker's Avatar
dirtbiker dirtbiker is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 696
Default

Yeah I have one, and like McNasy said mine's starting to rust just above there too. I'd say maybe your windshield was replaced at some point and whoever did it either forgot to put a new seal in or just decided not to.
__________________
2002 Dakota 3.9
V8 Throttle Body, 2" Lift coils and 2" lift shackles, Clutch Fan delete, Home Brew CAI, 265/70/16 General Grabber AT2's, Air horn.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:34 PM
jpayne80 jpayne80 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 150
Default

So my 03 isn't the only one without the upper seal. I've been meaning to buy one.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-10-2012, 09:47 PM
dirtbiker's Avatar
dirtbiker dirtbiker is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 696
Default

Mine's an 02, maybe they just didn't put them on 03 and 04's and did some built in thing.
__________________
2002 Dakota 3.9
V8 Throttle Body, 2" Lift coils and 2" lift shackles, Clutch Fan delete, Home Brew CAI, 265/70/16 General Grabber AT2's, Air horn.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-10-2012, 11:55 PM
macgollabhride's Avatar
macgollabhride macgollabhride is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Vehicle: 1998 3.9L/V6 Magnum Dodge Dakota 4x4 Club Cab
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 199
http://www.facebook.com/HandyManMcBride unckletickle
Default

My 98 has one. It's very slight but it does have one.


__________________
Mostly Black 1998 Dodge Dakota Sport 4x4:
V6 3.9L Magnum. Dynomax 17219 - Airaid: 300-107.

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-11-2012, 08:59 AM
Jermbubba Jermbubba is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Vehicle: 2003 DAKOTA QUAD CAB
Location: SC
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks all! I went a head and ordered one. hopefully I just press it right into place or does anyone think i need to silicone seal it?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04-11-2012, 06:21 PM
dolittle dolittle is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Vehicle: 00 durango 4x4, 02 Dakota QC 4x4
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 258
Default

I would seal it with some black silicone. I had one come loose and stated to slap the window it was over 100 F that day tho. Taped it down until I got it fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-11-2012, 09:31 PM
sl2racer's Avatar
sl2racer sl2racer is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Vehicle: 2003 quad cab 4.7 4x4 dakota
Location: port richey florida
Posts: 292
Default

my 03 doesn't have one either. no leaks
__________________
2003 4.7 4x4 quad cab dakota and my race car on the way to the track.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-11-2012, 09:41 PM
Jermbubba Jermbubba is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Vehicle: 2003 DAKOTA QUAD CAB
Location: SC
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sl2racer View Post
my 03 doesn't have one either. no leaks
hmmm interesting... brings me back to my original comment... Ive seen several around with out them as well... I wonder if its just an 03 thing.... still hoping others might chime in... Either way I have ordered the part. but now im worried that if I put it in that it might cause more of a problem. If the original design is to not have one then adding one might cause water to sit in the channel...
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2012, 09:41 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails