Problems after replacing IAC and TPS - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Dakota 1997 - 2004 Dakota's

Problems after replacing IAC and TPS

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 04-19-2013, 06:20 PM
gibsonq's Avatar
gibsonq
gibsonq is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
Default Problems after replacing IAC and TPS

Hey guys, Im having trouble with my truck and don't really know what is going on and Im looking for a bit of insight. First off, my truck is a '99 Dakota Sport 5.2L.
Just a couple weeks ago, I replaced the IAC and TPS because I was having a problem in which the rpms would stay up high when I pushed in the clutch. It turned out to be the TPS as far as I could tell. Regardless, after replacing those two things and resetting the PCM, the problem went away. For a day.
On cold starts, the it seems to struggle idling. When driving or giving it gas, it is perfectly fine, but as you let off the gas, it struggles to idle. But it will only do this for about 2 miles of driving. Which makes me think that it is only an issue while in Open Loop operation. But maybe that has nothing to do with that.. I don't know. Anyways, after about 2 miles, all is well and there is no problems. However.... Once I am within a couple of miles of work/home (after about 15-20 mins of driving) I will go to shift and as I take my foot off the gas and push in the clutch, the rpm's jump up to 3000 like my foot is still on the gas for 2-3 seconds, then falls back down to normal. Since it seems to start to do this consistently near the same spot every day, I have kind of played with it to get a better idea of what is happening. Once it starts to do it, I will tap the gas while in gear and I can feel and hear the engine revving like my foot is holding the gas for 2-3 seconds. Similarly, while holding the clutch in, I will tap the gas and the rpm's jump up to 3000 for 2-3, again, like I'm stepping on the gas. I am quite sure the throttle is not sticking, because it snaps right back. And it only does this after 15-20 mins of driving.
I don't know if these issues are related, but they both started right after replacing the IAC and TPS and resetting the PCM. Any Ideas?? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-19-2013, 06:22 PM
EricBing's Avatar
EricBing
EricBing is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 216
Default

map sensor??
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-19-2013, 06:27 PM
gibsonq's Avatar
gibsonq
gibsonq is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Maybe... I could I check that?
It just seems odd that the MAP sensor would go bad when it seemed like putting on a new TPS fixed the issue I had before all of this.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-19-2013, 06:28 PM
gibsonq's Avatar
gibsonq
gibsonq is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
Default

sorry, Meant to say "How could I check that?"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-19-2013, 10:28 PM
Dodgeboy77
Dodgeboy77 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Buffalo Pound Lake, Sask. Canada
Posts: 362
Default

the fastman said to turn the key to on, do not start, then push gas pedal slowly to the floor then let it up. it sets up the tps to the computer.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-19-2013, 10:43 PM
magnethead
magnethead is offline
Grand Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 5,421
Default

Could be any of the 3 sensors. Whatever it is, it knows better and closes the IAC when i sees the fault.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-20-2013, 08:03 AM
DK Pony's Avatar
DK Pony
DK Pony is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bristol, VA
Posts: 208
Default

Did you clean the Throttle Body where the IAC goes? I have had good luck with Seafoam for stuff like that.
Also, did you set the IAC before installing it?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-20-2013, 09:34 AM
gibsonq's Avatar
gibsonq
gibsonq is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
Default

I did not clean the TB. I was planning on doing it when the rain stopped and it gets a little dryer. How do you set the iac?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-21-2013, 12:22 AM
DK Pony's Avatar
DK Pony
DK Pony is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Bristol, VA
Posts: 208
Default

I will have to check the book for the Pintle length, but before installation the manual state to adjust the pintle length (the distance from the pintle(plunger on the end of the IAC)) to a preset distance from the plastic part. Usually you can just push it in or pull it out to the needed distance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-21-2013, 10:06 AM
gibsonq's Avatar
gibsonq
gibsonq is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
Default

Ok, so i cleaned out the TB. Now ot seems to start up and idle just fine for a little bit, then it starts to idle really rough.. To the point that I can feel the whole truck shake. PLUS, now its back to the rpms staying up high until I come to a complete stop (the reason I replaced the iac and tps im the first place). So I will be driving down the road and when I push the cluch, the rpms fall to only about 1500 until I come to a COMPLETE stop, then they fall to 800ish (normal)..
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
SteveTangential
1st Gen Ram Tech
4
09-10-2015 11:38 AM
huffp2
3rd Gen Ram Tech
0
07-07-2015 01:13 AM
kenb1023
2nd Gen Ram Tech
2
07-06-2015 01:44 PM
barrd70
2nd Gen Dakota
0
07-05-2015 02:23 PM
janicedauw
Dodge Caravan
1
07-04-2015 08:12 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:44 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send