Not starting!! Need help!! - DodgeForum.com


2nd Gen Dakota 1997 - 2004 Dakota's

Not starting!! Need help!!

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 09-23-2013, 12:42 PM
Mr.D
Mr.D is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cental Coast California
Posts: 12
Exclamation Not starting!! Need help!!

I have a Dakota 4.7 that is not starting! Code im geting is P0340. About a week ago it gave me the same problem & wouldnt start. Changed my crank sensor & it fired right up. Drove for about a week & now its doing it again! Went & got another sensor, swapped it out and still nothing. The connection at the sensor seems fine. Could it be the wiring harness?? Im stuck & could really use some help!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-23-2013, 02:06 PM
00DakDan's Avatar
00DakDan
00DakDan is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 4,174
Default

P0340 is a camshaft sensor code - "no cam signal at pcm." You don't have fuel sync.

The cam and crank sensors are on the same 5 volt circuit however..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-23-2013, 02:10 PM
sxrsil3nt's Avatar
sxrsil3nt
sxrsil3nt is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,075
Default

If you still have your old sensor try that just in case the one you got was a flop.

Otherwise it could be a wiring issue.

Id break out a multi meter and start testing to see if you're getting power to the Sensor.

Pray that your PCM isnt failing.

Last edited by sxrsil3nt; 09-23-2013 at 02:13 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-23-2013, 02:23 PM
Mr.D
Mr.D is offline
Registered User
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Cental Coast California
Posts: 12
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sxrsil3nt View Post
If you still have your old sensor try that just in case the one you got was a flop.

Otherwise it could be a wiring issue.

Id break out a multi meter and start testing to see if you're getting power to the Sensor.

Pray that your PCM isnt failing.
Do you know if there is a prefabed wiring harness that i could purchase for the cam & crank sensor? And im not sure how to test the wires with a multi meter....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-23-2013, 02:55 PM
sxrsil3nt's Avatar
sxrsil3nt
sxrsil3nt is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,075
Default

I doubt there's one... plus it would just be as much work as checking your own.

Basically, Dan has already identified that your crank sensor is on a 5V circuit. You will want to check that you're getting the right amout of power to your sensor and signal from your pcm.

Since you said it ran great for a week with the new crank sensor... I'm willing to bet your male end of the harness (one on your engine) is corroded or has a short. This would explain why it just doesn't start anymore.

Google how to test a crank sensor with a multimeter. Does a much better job explaining it than I do Lol. Not very complicated.

Last edited by sxrsil3nt; 09-23-2013 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-23-2013, 03:11 PM
01SilverCC
01SilverCC is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Clermont, Florida
Posts: 1,970
Default

If it's anything like a MAP sensor or Throttle Position Sensor and has a 3 wire connector, the 2 wires on the outside are 5 volts and ground inputs and the center wire is the signal.

Jimmy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-23-2013, 03:31 PM
00DakDan's Avatar
00DakDan
00DakDan is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 4,174
Default

Pins 2 (black with light blue tracer) is the ground and pin 3 (orange wire)is the 5v supply at the cam sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-23-2013, 08:11 PM
Vladek's Avatar
Vladek
Vladek is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield Mo.
Posts: 239
Default

had the same deal with my 97. turned up the be a loose connection. i had to zip tie the wire connector to the ignition coil.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-23-2013, 08:42 PM
00DakDan's Avatar
00DakDan
00DakDan is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 4,174
Default

The 4.7 has coil packs. It's unlikely they all failed or came loose.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2013, 09:04 PM
Vladek's Avatar
Vladek
Vladek is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Springfield Mo.
Posts: 239
Default

true. but doesn't hurt to check. cheap and easy fix if that is the case.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
daniel.kirkby
Dodge Stratus
2
05-12-2016 01:57 PM
herche54
2nd Gen Ram Tech
13
07-17-2015 05:38 PM
Jamespasnyk
3rd Gen Ram Tech
1
07-10-2015 02:54 PM
colons3499
Dodge Neon
0
07-09-2015 04:57 PM
kenm78
4th Gen Ram Tech
1
07-05-2015 03:05 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 AM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send