2nd Gen Dakota Tech 1997 - 2004 Dodge Dakota Tech - The ultimate forum for technical help on the 2nd Gen Dakota.

sorry if this is an FAQ rear end and perf Q's

Search this Thread

Old 07-20-2014, 04:10 AM
97dakota5
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking sorry if this is an FAQ rear end and perf Q's

hey everybody in case you didnt figure it out im a newb haha now that's out of the way

1st off what kind of rear end options do i have as far as gearing or just full rear end swaps for my truck (by the way its a 97 4x4 w/5.2 and nv3500 manual transmission)

2nd what are a couple of sites that i could go to for parts because i cant seem to find any good ones with a good variety of stuff or any performance parts for it

3rd what would be a couple of mild performance parts that i could milk a little bit of power out of the 5.2 while keeping it farily reliable

any help or suggestions or links would be appreciated OHH and a decent lift kit that would be good for 2-3 inches just trying to figure out what im going to do to mod my rad dak im soo stoked

Old 07-20-2014, 10:58 PM
magnethead
Legend
Received 152 Likes on 139 Posts

1. depends if you have the 8.25 (round cover) or 9.25 (octogon cover). I run a part time spool/ratchet locker/lock-rite/whatever they are called in my 8.25 with 4.10's. I think up to 4.56 exist for 8.25 and 4.88 for 9.25.

2. Randy's Ring and Pinion or your local off road shop are your best bets.

3. Don't get me started. Hope you have deep pockets unlike me…and I have alot of mods.

4. No chassis lift for dakota, esp 4x4. You'll be stuck with torsion bar crank and body lift, can still squeeze 33's though.

Old 07-21-2014, 03:59 AM
97dakota5

well what im looking for in this truck is a general truck you know going off road and sounding loud and to beat the occasional ricer to the next light all while being fairly reliable lol is this possible or should i lower my standards

Last edited by 97dakota5; 07-21-2014 at 04:07 AM.
Old 07-21-2014, 07:04 AM
RalphP