Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Dakota > 2nd Gen Dakota
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Dakota 1997 - 2004 Dakota's

Window Lock Switch

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 08-08-2014, 09:54 PM
tomes1978 tomes1978 is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Vehicle: 2003 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab with 4.7 magnum
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 33
Question Window Lock Switch

The driver switch can roll down all windows, but I can't roll the windows from the switches from the other three windows. At first I was going to take the panel off the door to look at the switch and noticed it caused all the switches to work just by moving it. It would work for a time and I then I would have to move the panel again to get it to work. Now It will not work. Do I need a whole new panel or should I look at some wires. I'm not sure where to look or what to test for. Any ideas would be helpful.


Thanks!
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-08-2014, 10:34 PM
00DakDan's Avatar
00DakDan 00DakDan is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Vehicle: 2000 Dak Sport CC 4.7 5 speed 4x4
Location: MA
Posts: 2,995
Default

It could be the lockout switch, it's a common failure. You can check for power on pin #8 of the 8 pin connector.

It's the common feed for all the other windows.
__________________
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/signaturepics/sigpic158370_10.gif
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-08-2014, 11:00 PM
magnethead magnethead is offline
Champion
2001 Dodge Dakota
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Vehicle: 01 Dako 3.9 4x2
Location: Fort Worth/ARL, TX
Posts: 4,620
Send a message via AIM to magnethead
Default

What Dan said. I also have to shimmy my switch panel for passenger window to work. I actually think it's a cracked connector under the switch but I haven't spent more than 5 seconds to look at it.
__________________

68 Camaro (sold): 5.318@128 / 8.568@155 ; 2014 Dragster: 4.79@143, 2014 2X Champions!
Magnethead494.com Web & Computer Maintenance
McDermott Family Racing
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-08-2014, 11:09 PM
tomes1978 tomes1978 is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Vehicle: 2003 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab with 4.7 magnum
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 00DakDan View Post
It could be the lockout switch, it's a common failure. You can check for power on pin #8 of the 8 pin connector.

It's the common feed for all the other windows.

Is there anyway to bypass that switch? I called Dodge today and they said it's $160 bucks because you have to buy the whole assembly with all the switches on it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-09-2014, 01:37 AM
magnethead magnethead is offline
Champion
2001 Dodge Dakota
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Vehicle: 01 Dako 3.9 4x2
Location: Fort Worth/ARL, TX
Posts: 4,620
Send a message via AIM to magnethead
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomes1978 View Post
Is there anyway to bypass that switch? I called Dodge today and they said it's $160 bucks because you have to buy the whole assembly with all the switches on it.
I'm sure there is. But i'd have to spend time to look at the harness to figure out how.
__________________

68 Camaro (sold): 5.318@128 / 8.568@155 ; 2014 Dragster: 4.79@143, 2014 2X Champions!
Magnethead494.com Web & Computer Maintenance
McDermott Family Racing
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-09-2014, 10:24 AM
00DakDan's Avatar
00DakDan 00DakDan is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Vehicle: 2000 Dak Sport CC 4.7 5 speed 4x4
Location: MA
Posts: 2,995
Default

If you feed power from pin #9 on C1 to pin #8 on C2 you'll bypass the lockout function.

Do you have a meter handy?
__________________
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/signaturepics/sigpic158370_10.gif
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-09-2014, 12:12 PM
tomes1978 tomes1978 is offline
Amateur
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Vehicle: 2003 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab with 4.7 magnum
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 33
Default

I do have a meter Dan, but I won't need it. I was attempting to unplug the harness from the piece that has the switches on it. I noticed it was cocked in there and it was hard to take off. I was able to push on the harness and it snapped back in place. The windows then worked! Thanks for everyone that gave advise!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-2014, 12:24 PM
magnethead magnethead is offline
Champion
2001 Dodge Dakota
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Vehicle: 01 Dako 3.9 4x2
Location: Fort Worth/ARL, TX
Posts: 4,620
Send a message via AIM to magnethead
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomes1978 View Post
I do have a meter Dan, but I won't need it. I was attempting to unplug the harness from the piece that has the switches on it. I noticed it was cocked in there and it was hard to take off. I was able to push on the harness and it snapped back in place. The windows then worked! Thanks for everyone that gave advise!
yep, that's my problem, except I think the latch on mine broke so there's nothing to hold it up.
__________________

68 Camaro (sold): 5.318@128 / 8.568@155 ; 2014 Dragster: 4.79@143, 2014 2X Champions!
Magnethead494.com Web & Computer Maintenance
McDermott Family Racing
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-2014, 02:39 PM
00DakDan's Avatar
00DakDan 00DakDan is offline
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Vehicle: 2000 Dak Sport CC 4.7 5 speed 4x4
Location: MA
Posts: 2,995
Default

Glad you found it Tomes.

Magnet, a little trick, use hot melt glue or RTV to hold the connector on. Then if you ever need to remove it it comes off easily. Run a bead from the plug to the socket.
__________________
http://dodgeforum.com/forum/signaturepics/sigpic158370_10.gif
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-09-2014, 05:23 PM
MoparMan1991's Avatar
MoparMan1991 MoparMan1991 is offline
Record Breaker
2014 RAM 1500
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Vehicle: 2014 Ram 1500 4x4
Location: Barksdale AFB, LA
Posts: 2,209
XxGAMB1N0xX
Default

http://dodgeforum.com/forum/2439583-post8.html

I had the same issue on my 2001 Durango. The procedure is the same for bypassing the lockout switch.
__________________


- Joe Carter -

Fun costs money. How hard do you wanna laugh?
Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2014, 05:23 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails