Oxygen Sensor Simulator - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Dakota 1997 - 2004 Dakota's

Oxygen Sensor Simulator

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:29 AM
BeachCruiser BeachCruiser is offline
Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location:
Posts: 56
Default Oxygen Sensor Simulator

I've got a custom exhuast on my 97 and tore out the cat. I've got the check engine light on, but the 3.9 definatley seems to be running too rich. Are there any oxygen sensor simulators that do not require actually screwing in the sensor cause I didn't put a hole in my pipe for it and dont feel like doing it unless i have too. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-16-2007, 05:23 PM
imnothot02 imnothot02 is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location:
Posts: 2,244
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

Not that Ive seen or heard of... buy a new cat and put back in your O2 sensors...proaly would be cheaper than all the gas...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2007, 03:38 AM
dodgedakota98luver dodgedakota98luver is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location:
Posts: 456
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

mine doesnt actually screw in but you have to wire it into the wires on your preexisting o2 sensor. the heating element cant be by passed on your o2. however your secondary o2 sensor has nothing to do with running rich. it just tells your computer if your cat is bad or not
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-20-2007, 03:37 PM
yellowjacket99 yellowjacket99 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 191
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

I got mine from Jeg's, and it just plugs into the harness side pigtail. So you wouldn't have to put a hole in your pipe with that one.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-20-2007, 03:58 PM
DakotaStone DakotaStone is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Vehicle: 2007 Dodge Charger SXT
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 3,521
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

Does the OSS improve performance? I've been curious, and I've heard that it does, butI haven't heard enough to make an educated decision,and I know Fastman.com sells it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-20-2007, 04:09 PM
yellowjacket99 yellowjacket99 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 191
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

Can't say for sure, I didn't really notice anything. I wouldn't think so cause as mentioned it basicallyjust tells the computer the cat is good and eliminates the cel. Getting rid of the cat or going to a hi-flow one might help performance, but I don't think the OSS alone will.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-20-2007, 05:19 PM
Chris Chris is offline
Record Breaker
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Detroit
Posts: 1,909
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

It will do nothing for performance. It will simply get rid of the check engine light associated with a bad cat.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-21-2007, 05:25 AM
horatio102 horatio102 is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Vehicle: 98 12v, my 9th MOPAR
Location: Skagit County, WA
Posts: 3,692
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

If you're putting a simulator in for the pre-cat O2, you're going to mess up your A/F ratio since that one tells the ECU if it's running rich or lean. The after-cat O2 only tells the ECU if the cat is running properly.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-29-2008, 01:51 PM
Ethica19 Ethica19 is offline
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location:
Posts: 67
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

my high outputconverter keeps making my oxygen sensor throw a code more and more constantly now. If I get a simulator, will I only need one for the post converter?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-29-2008, 02:20 PM
Loud Pedal's Avatar
Loud Pedal Loud Pedal is offline
The Total Package
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Vehicle: caddi
Location: Kansas
Posts: 3,602
Default RE: Oxygen Sensor Simulator

i took the cat off mine and the engine lite come on too i bought a special pipe that angles the sensor pointing twords the back of the truck adn the sensor is sunken back a lil bit and the check engine lite is off now i think as long as the sensor isnt in the line of the exhaust it should be fine mine has 175,000 on it soo i need it tuned(burns rich too)
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[4th Gen : 01-07]: Rough Idle/O2 Sensor Issues...HELP!!! Miketech137 Dodge Caravan 5 10-20-2015 07:27 PM
2003 Durango R/T NEW "no bus" issues Strocket 1st Gen Durango 3 08-02-2015 06:20 PM
In & Out of lock-up/Tranny temp sensor Fubba 2nd Gen Ram Tech 2 07-28-2015 12:41 AM
ABS sensor -99 Johanswe 2nd Gen Ram Tech 2 07-27-2015 11:29 AM
2002 dodge neon 2.0 sohc colons3499 Dodge Neon 0 07-09-2015 04:57 PM


Tags
97, dakota, dodge, o2, oxygen, sensor, simulator

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:33 AM.