2nd Gen Intrepid 1998 through 2004 Intrepids

Mechanic uttered dreadful "I don't know" 2000 2.7L V6

Old 08-03-2012, 11:54 AM
Sean Harms
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Mechanic uttered dreadful "I don't know" 2000 2.7L V6

This is my first time here. I have a 2000 Intrepid, which has had alot of problems recently. Originally thought it was the fuel pump because of how it acted. Last week, I told the garage that I normally deal with this, and bought the part. I told them to check it first, and let me know if I needed to return the part and/or get a different one. They called me much later and told me it was done. They said they replaced the pump [/filter(in the tank)], but it was still running sluggish, so they cleaned the map sensor. It ran good for a couple days, then started doing the same stuff. I made it through my work week (my Friday is actually Tuesday), and went to take it to them on Wednesday. I had just driven down to the store half an hour before this, but not it would not stay started. It would start up, act as if it were choking, then die. Pressing on the gas (air) pedal did not even register. After about 4-5 tries, I gave up. I checked the oil, and it was drained mostly even though I added a quart but a few weeks ago. So, I got a ride, bought two quarts and added them. Tried to start it again, and it just clicked. Had my ride (took me to get the oil) jump me and it started, but it idled really rough, backfired, then died. So I called the shop, and they said there was obviously something else wrong with my car (duh). They told me they would discount the work for my troubles. So I have it towed to them last evening, and call them this morning. The mechanic first asks me if it's been burning alot of oil, to which I answer "Not normally, but I did notice it was low yesterday after me adding a quart recently." He then tells me something about the intake holding oil, and how this is usually on older cars with a lot of miles. He points out that while