2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

2005 SXT Poor Gas Mileage...I'm stumped!

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2014, 07:53 PM
Djebba
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question 2005 SXT Poor Gas Mileage...I'm stumped!

Hello everyone! I've read numerous threads on this site throughout the years and got a lot of helpful info but now it's time to post for once. I'm stumped with this one and I'm about to sell this thing but I am curious as to why it's getting crappy mpg.

I am by no means a mechanic but I have learned so much messing around on this car

I've got an 05 SXT, automatic, standard 4 cylinder engine that's been in the family since my sister purchased it brand new in 05.

At the end of last year the head gasket burnt out between cylinders 3 & 4. We took it to a mechanic who replaced the gasket. He also did the timing belt, water pump, a pulley that came in a kit with the belt and pump, new oil, antifreeze, oil filter.

After I got it back I noticed after a couple fill-ups it wasn't getting good gas mileage at all. I've estimated over the months it averages about 15 mpg. Seems pretty weak to me.

Here's everything I've done to it for various reasons that I can remember. I've replaced the PCV Valve, Spark Plugs, Wires, Coil Pack, Camshaft Sensor, Air filter, I've cleaned intake manifold, we replaced a fuel injector and all the gaskets on all fuel injectors.

There's no error codes or lights on, it runs good, sounds good. I don't drive it very much due to the poor mpg.

The only thing I wonder about and I haven't replaced is the catalytic converter or the sensors with it but I'm getting tired of throwing money at it. I would like to know what the heck's going on before I sell it. It's still a real nice car!

Thank you!

-Dean

Old 01-10-2014, 03:51 AM
AnthemBassMan
Veteran
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

-You could try the o2 sensor. When it goes bad it affects the mileage.

L8R,
Matt

Old 01-10-2014, 10:43 AM
darthroush
Section Moderator
Dodge Forum Moderator