2nd Gen Neon 2000 - 2005 2nd Gen Neon

Just changed the right side lower torque strut and 2 days it's already toast?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2014, 12:25 AM
Mohunter
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just changed the right side lower torque strut and 2 days it's already toast?

I had a bad vibe in the front end, thought it was a tire scrubbing on the strut, changed the strut, then found out it was a bad right lower torque strut (motor mount) and changed that out. It immediately fixed the problem for 2 days, now it's back! Checked the lower torque strut and it's already got cracks in the rubber............Jeezz! WTF is going on here?
I did notice that the "Pencil Strut" is missing, it goes from the longer than usual bolt on the back end of the lower strut up to the fender well, would that make the lower torque strut fail so rapidly? Need some help here guys because this is my first neon and I'm still learning.

Old 08-27-2014, 12:40 AM
Mohunter

I really had hopes that someone would have replied to this thread by now. If anyone has had similar issues or knows of a thread in progress on this subject please send me a link, or point me in the right direction. I'm at a total loss as to what's causing my neon to eat lower torque struts.

Old 08-27-2014, 07:19 PM
Herman Geronimo Miranda
Old 08-28-2014, 12:29 PM
Mohunter

Thanks Herman, I checked that procedure out yesterday and printed the materials off so I could follow them exactly. I found a pencil strut at a local junk yard (since mine was MIA) and I'm picking up a new lower torque mount from the auto parts today. I'll give this another shot and do it the Right way, maybe things will turn out better this time ..........I hope!

Old 08-28-2014, 02:10 PM
TejasMtnBiker
Captain