2nd Gen RAM general discussion/NON-tech This section is for general discussions about your 2nd gen RAM. Non tech related RAM threads belong here.

Limited slip rear end

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2015, 11:40 PM
crosecrans
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Limited slip rear end

I had my differential opened up and checked. Found pieces of a metal clip off of the limited slip gears. Was told it would cost $1500 to $1800 to fix. I went to another shop for a second opinion and was told that I do not have to fix it unless I want too. That the differential will act like a normal diff without the limited slip. Can anyone verify this for me as I am not a mechanic.

Old 06-09-2015, 09:10 AM
Wh1t3NuKle
Champion
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

The 2nd opinion is correct. What was found are broken pieces of the outer shims or clips that retain the clutch pieces. Since the clips are gone, they do not provide any mechanical restraint on the clutch pack of the limited slip carrier. Therefore, it acts as open differential. Overtime more pieces may fall out and hopefully get caught by the magnet. Or they can be removed manually.

Cost to repair is definitely not that high. I recall a few people have redone their own here, but can't remember usernames or threads. Do a search or hopefully someone can recall better than me and mention. It depends on your mechanical ability though and I'd roughly quote the parts cost in the $200-300 range using yourself as the labor.

Old 06-09-2015, 11:14 AM
crosecrans

Thank you for the response. I would not try this as I am not mechanically inclined. Thanks again, I really appreciate it.

Old 06-09-2015, 11:27 PM
CPTAFW163
Champion
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

it is probably cheaper to replace the whole unit than it is to restore it. That is what happened to me. It cost 1000 bucks...but my extended warranty covered it. I got a new Eaton posi unit.

Old 06-09-2015, 11:51 PM
crosecrans
Default Limited slip rear end