Replacing crank position sensor...how? - DodgeForum.com



2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

     
Old 08-06-2015, 08:03 PM
How-Tos on this Topic
 
Last edit by: IB Advertising
See related guides and technical advice from our community experts:

Browse all: Electrical System
Print Wikipost

Replacing crank position sensor...how?

Reply
 
 
  #1  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:54 PM
OlsenG_360
OlsenG_360 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 242
Default Replacing crank position sensor...how?

I need to replace my crank position sensor in my 97 ram 1500 4x4. With a flashlight i can see it from underneath or through the wheel well (barely). But I certainly can't reach it from either of those places, unless i was to drop off the exhaust Y pipe. What's the best way to go about changing it? Those with experience, please step up.

thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-22-2007, 09:57 PM
dillonjm
dillonjm is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Omaha
Posts: 447
Default RE: Replacing crank position sensor...how?

Come in from the top of the engine. Its a PITA but I found that coming at it from above is the easiest way. You won't be able to see it, but you can feel it if you slide your hand in between the engine and firewall. The first time I messed with mine I had a lot of trouble, but now that I have figured out exactly which angles to come at it from it goes much easier.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-22-2007, 10:02 PM
OlsenG_360
OlsenG_360 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 242
Default RE: Replacing crank position sensor...how?

crap. i hate working blind

happen to know what size the 2 bolts are that hold it in?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-23-2007, 12:05 AM
steve05ram360
steve05ram360 is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 12,144
Default RE: Replacing crank position sensor...how?

your best bet is to lay across the motor from the front... that way you can get your right hand on one side & left on the other.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-23-2007, 01:15 AM
OlsenG_360
OlsenG_360 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 242
Default RE: Replacing crank position sensor...how?

ended up being a 1/4 inch hex bit for those bolts.

and i'm confident in saying...if i didn't have my clutch fan removed already, this project would be a real b*tch. the position i found that i could work from was standing on top of the front sway bar in like a half-fetal position with my left hand around the back of the passenger side exhaust manifold and right hand down the back of the motor just to the drivers side of the trans stick tube.

1/4" hex bit, several different length extensions, and a swivel joint all on a 3/8 drive ratchet is what needed for tools.


p.s. i didn't exactly "replace" the sensor, i slotted the mounting bracket holesabout 3/8" and reinstalled. so far the butt-dyno definitely approves of this mod[sm=yeahsmile.gif]we'll see how mileage is affected

http://www.axcessmypics.com/photos/p...b1c548e8be.3g2 (a quick camera phone vid, looks like 0-60 is between 8 and 9 seconds, actually maybe even a little quicker since my speedo hasn't been calibrated for the 285/75/16's, with a little tirespin thrown in there wheni went overa bump)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-23-2007, 09:57 PM
bill022572
bill022572 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 164
Default RE: Replacing crank position sensor...how?

for what it's worth : I read somewhere that the easiest way to access the crank sensor is to remove the passenger side inner plastic fenderwell. Never tried it - but makes sense. Maybe someone who has done it may know better. Sorry if this would have helped you if I had been on here earlier but maybe just an FYI for someone else.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-24-2007, 11:59 AM
OlsenG_360
OlsenG_360 is offline
Professional
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location:
Posts: 242
Default RE: Replacing crank position sensor...how?

i think that's the easiest way for the dakota/durango guys to access it, because their motors aren't tucked so far back under the firewall.
Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
95Ram2500v10
2nd Gen Ram Tech
5
02-01-2016 12:09 AM
herche54
2nd Gen Ram Tech
13
07-17-2015 05:38 PM
colons3499
Dodge Neon
0
07-09-2015 04:57 PM
huffp2
3rd Gen Ram Tech
0
07-07-2015 01:13 AM
barrd70
2nd Gen Dakota
0
07-05-2015 02:23 PM



Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:17 PM.


 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
What's your question?
Send