Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:12 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Alright, I installed the Pioneer 6x9s into my Dodge. I wired them to the factory amps. The problem, however, is that I am hearing a lot of distortion at medium to high volume levels, which leads me to believe the amps are overpowering the Pioneer 6x9s (they're 250 watt). The question, however, is how should I bypass them. They have about 6 wires feeding into the amps, but only 2 coming out, so I'm not sure what to snip and splice. Help is always appreciated.

Thanks,
Trey.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2008, 04:51 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Anyone?
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:09 PM
priest1981 priest1981 is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Vehicle: 98 Ram QC/98 Stratus
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Posts: 114
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

On my 98 the input wires from the deck were the two outside wires going into the amp, one wire from each end. Sorry I don't remember the colors, I'll try to look them up tonight.

Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:16 PM
priest1981 priest1981 is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Vehicle: 98 Ram QC/98 Stratus
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Posts: 114
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

OK, I found a diagram at work. On my 98 Q.C. the left wires are DG and BR/RD and the right are VT and DB/RD. If you do not leave these connected to your amp the tweeters on the A pillar will stop working, I "T"ed mine in so they were still connected to the amp. Hope this helps.

Will
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:18 PM
Ben D. Ben D. is offline
Champion
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,752
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

what year truck is it? ur hearing distortion becaues factory infinty amps are meant to run with factory infinity speakers. start replacing stuff and bad things happen. it either sounds terrible or the amp just frys. What year truck and I'll look up a bypass harness that will work just fine that way you don't gotta go jimmy rigging stuff and plugging wires all over the damn place
__________________
2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Regular Cab Short Bed 4x4 SLT
4.7L V8 Engine with 6 Speed Manual Transmission
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:34 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Its a 1998 club cab.
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:28 PM
priest1981 priest1981 is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Vehicle: 98 Ram QC/98 Stratus
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Posts: 114
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Try this, save it to your computer and you can magnify it easier.

Will

[IMG]local://upfiles/57732/5EA28546EF734F518D859CE47544C215.gif[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:10 PM
pipeking pipeking is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 363
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

why dont you just get more powerful speakers?
__________________
99 ext sport 5.9 4x4
315/70/16 MT mtz
f/m cat back
3' sus. lift
4 kc daylighters
rhino liner red
1 10' infinity 1052w w/infinity amp
1 ton rear wheel cyl
alum bezel,tint,180t-stat,8mm moroso wires
plenum fix and mod,castrol syntec oil
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:16 PM
froesen froesen is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Vehicle: 98 Ram 1500
Posts: 208
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

It's probably not the speakers, you're overloading the amps. you can blow a speaker by overdriving the amp just as easily as overdriving the speaker, as the output from the amp itself will be distorted (clipped at max output) and will kill the amp or the speakers. Need a bigger amp.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-02-2008, 08:39 AM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Quote:
ORIGINAL: pipeking

why dont you just get more powerful speakers?
I got mine on sale from Bestbuy for 40 dollars, and really, I don't need them to be that powerful.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: froesen

It's probably not the speakers, you're overloading the amps. you can blow a speaker by overdriving the amp just as easily as overdriving the speaker, as the output from the amp itself will be distorted (clipped at max output) and will kill the amp or the speakers. Need a bigger amp.
I'm not planning on getting an amp till later this year when I'm gonna buy an amp and 2 subs. I'm looking just to bypass the amp for now so I don't ruin the 6x9s.
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 08:39 AM
Reply
 
 
 




Tags
localupfiles577325ea28546ef734f518d859ce47544c215g if, upfiles577325ea28546ef734f518d859ce47544c215gif

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2