Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:12 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Alright, I installed the Pioneer 6x9s into my Dodge. I wired them to the factory amps. The problem, however, is that I am hearing a lot of distortion at medium to high volume levels, which leads me to believe the amps are overpowering the Pioneer 6x9s (they're 250 watt). The question, however, is how should I bypass them. They have about 6 wires feeding into the amps, but only 2 coming out, so I'm not sure what to snip and splice. Help is always appreciated.

Thanks,
Trey.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-01-2008, 04:51 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Anyone?
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:09 PM
priest1981 priest1981 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Vehicle: 98 Ram QC/01 Neon
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Posts: 115
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

On my 98 the input wires from the deck were the two outside wires going into the amp, one wire from each end. Sorry I don't remember the colors, I'll try to look them up tonight.

Will
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:16 PM
priest1981 priest1981 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Vehicle: 98 Ram QC/01 Neon
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Posts: 115
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

OK, I found a diagram at work. On my 98 Q.C. the left wires are DG and BR/RD and the right are VT and DB/RD. If you do not leave these connected to your amp the tweeters on the A pillar will stop working, I "T"ed mine in so they were still connected to the amp. Hope this helps.

Will
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-01-2008, 06:18 PM
Ben D. Ben D. is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,752
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

what year truck is it? ur hearing distortion becaues factory infinty amps are meant to run with factory infinity speakers. start replacing stuff and bad things happen. it either sounds terrible or the amp just frys. What year truck and I'll look up a bypass harness that will work just fine that way you don't gotta go jimmy rigging stuff and plugging wires all over the damn place
__________________
2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Regular Cab Short Bed 4x4 SLT
4.7L V8 Engine with 6 Speed Manual Transmission
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-01-2008, 09:34 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Its a 1998 club cab.
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-01-2008, 10:28 PM
priest1981 priest1981 is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Vehicle: 98 Ram QC/01 Neon
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Posts: 115
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Try this, save it to your computer and you can magnify it easier.

Will

[IMG]local://upfiles/57732/5EA28546EF734F518D859CE47544C215.gif[/IMG]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:10 PM
pipeking pipeking is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 365
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

why dont you just get more powerful speakers?
__________________
99 ext sport 5.9 4x4
315/70/16 MT mtz
f/m cat back
3' sus. lift
4 kc daylighters
rhino liner red
1 10' infinity 1052w w/infinity amp
1 ton rear wheel cyl
alum bezel,tint,180t-stat,8mm moroso wires
plenum fix and mod,castrol syntec oil
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-01-2008, 11:16 PM
froesen froesen is offline
Professional
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Vehicle: 98 Ram 1500
Posts: 208
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

It's probably not the speakers, you're overloading the amps. you can blow a speaker by overdriving the amp just as easily as overdriving the speaker, as the output from the amp itself will be distorted (clipped at max output) and will kill the amp or the speakers. Need a bigger amp.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-02-2008, 08:39 AM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Quote:
ORIGINAL: pipeking

why dont you just get more powerful speakers?
I got mine on sale from Bestbuy for 40 dollars, and really, I don't need them to be that powerful.

Quote:
ORIGINAL: froesen

It's probably not the speakers, you're overloading the amps. you can blow a speaker by overdriving the amp just as easily as overdriving the speaker, as the output from the amp itself will be distorted (clipped at max output) and will kill the amp or the speakers. Need a bigger amp.
I'm not planning on getting an amp till later this year when I'm gonna buy an amp and 2 subs. I'm looking just to bypass the amp for now so I don't ruin the 6x9s.
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-02-2008, 09:01 AM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Quote:
ORIGINAL: priest1981

Try this, save it to your computer and you can magnify it easier.

Will

[IMG]local://upfiles/57732/5EA28546EF734F518D859CE47544C215.gif[/IMG]
Alright thanks for the diagram. I'll take a look.
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-02-2008, 12:25 PM
Ben D. Ben D. is offline
Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,752
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

i'll have to look up the harness when i get to work.,

ur not overdriving the speakers. so whoever said that it's not that.

ur not technically overdriving the amp u don't need a bigger one

it's that when you replace factory speakers and run aftermarkets on the factory amp it really messes with stuff. the resistances are all different and the factory amp isn't meant to run at those resistances. therefore u get terrible sound quality and other symptons that will lead to the failure of the amplifier.

the harness i'll look up will basically run from ur radio to the output of the amp. u will unplug the output of the amp and plug it into the harness. therefore bypassing the factory infinity amplifier
__________________
2008 Dodge Ram 1500 Regular Cab Short Bed 4x4 SLT
4.7L V8 Engine with 6 Speed Manual Transmission
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:41 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Hmm, I talked to a Crutchfield advisor just now, and basically they told me I'm underpowering my new speakers, after they looked into the Infinity specs. That explains why, when I turn up the volume, the speakers are playing distortion, because the amps aren't supplying enough power. But if there is a harness of some sort, I'm sure that would make things much easier.
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:45 PM
dusty_duster dusty_duster is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 282
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

My friend had a Ford Ranger with factory amps. Basically, what we did is by this box that "sat" between the head unit and the amps. It had potentiometers (variable resistors) that enabled you to turn down the "gain" on the head unit until you got a good sound without distortion.

The box was like $20.

EDIT: This is it:

http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Produ...&i=142SLC4

This box converts speaker-level inputs to line out RCA type plugs, but it also has speaker-level outs that can be controlled with those little screws on the top of the box.

If you've got any questions about it, post them and I'll try to answer.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:49 PM
kowboydmac kowboydmac is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 948
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

I have an aftermarket radio, and I'm considering Pioneer 6 x 9's as well. Really enjoyed the last pair I had and those were paper cone, 20 dollar ebay speakers. So let me get this straight,

I can get a set of 3 way speakers, hook them to the amps, and still use the factory tweeter? My speakers are blown, but my tweeters seem fine. Not very loud but it's hard for me to judge.
__________________
1996 1500 2wd 360.
Never Satisfied. Always Gratified.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:07 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Quote:
ORIGINAL: kowboydmac

I have an aftermarket radio, and I'm considering Pioneer 6 x 9's as well. Really enjoyed the last pair I had and those were paper cone, 20 dollar ebay speakers. So let me get this straight,

I can get a set of 3 way speakers, hook them to the amps, and still use the factory tweeter? My speakers are blown, but my tweeters seem fine. Not very loud but it's hard for me to judge.
No, thats the problem I'm having. The factory amps aren't producing enough power to drive my new Pioneer speakers.
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:27 PM
kowboydmac kowboydmac is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 948
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

So the amps are weak. So your trying to bypass the amps, and retain the tweeter, or no?
__________________
1996 1500 2wd 360.
Never Satisfied. Always Gratified.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-02-2008, 04:20 PM
Trey318's Avatar
Trey318 Trey318 is offline
Captain
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Vehicle: 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 QC 5.2L Auto 2wd
Location: Galveston, Texas
Posts: 723
Send a message via AIM to Trey318
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Exactly
__________________
'98 Dodge Ram 1500
My CarDomain Page
Viper Red Truck Club Member #001
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-02-2008, 04:21 PM
dusty_duster dusty_duster is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location:
Posts: 282
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Trey318

Exactly
Did you install an aftermarket headunit? If so, just run new wires to the speakers and bypass the amp altogether.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-02-2008, 04:26 PM
kowboydmac kowboydmac is offline
All Star
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location:
Posts: 948
Default RE: Bypassing factory Infinity Amps


Quote:
ORIGINAL: dusty_duster

Quote:
ORIGINAL: Trey318

Exactly
Did you install an aftermarket headunit?* If so, just run new wires to the speakers and bypass the amp altogether.
That's what I had planned on doing, but if I could retain the tweeter, I'd be asking the same question.
__________________
1996 1500 2wd 360.
Never Satisfied. Always Gratified.
Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2008, 04:26 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
localupfiles577325ea28546ef734f518d859ce47544c215g if, upfiles577325ea28546ef734f518d859ce47544c215gif

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 PM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails