Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Torque converter lockup switch

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 05-20-2008, 10:01 PM
rankhornjp rankhornjp is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default Torque converter lockup switch

http://www.4x4wire.com/dodge/tech/tc_lockup/

Here's a link to a mod thats supposed to allow you to lock your torque converter and keep it locked till you turn the switch off.

Will this work on an '01 1500? Has anyone heard of this/ tried it?

Looking at the pic on the right of the page, could you put a switch inline the jumper wire to turn off the lock-up till you turn back on.

I know leaving it unlocked will increase heat build up, just want to know if it can be done.

James
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2008, 11:16 AM
padodgeram's Avatar
padodgeram padodgeram is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 2,440
Default RE: Torque converter lockup switch

our rams already have a switch , its the OD off ..
__________________
SOLD !! 09/08
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2008, 12:51 PM
rankhornjp rankhornjp is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default RE: Torque converter lockup switch

Even with the O/D off, it still locks up in 3rd (usually right after the shift) which is what i want to stop.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2008, 08:56 PM
dillonjm dillonjm is offline
Veteran
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Vehicle: '01 1500: 4x4/360
Location: Omaha
Posts: 447
Default RE: Torque converter lockup switch

Take it into the dealer and have them update your PCM. The updatedprogram disables lockup in 3rd gear.
__________________
2003 Silver Quad Cab 2500 CTD
HO / 48RE / Stock
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-22-2008, 10:44 PM
Shawn86 Shawn86 is offline
Professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location:
Posts: 159
Default RE: Torque converter lockup switch

Now I'm probably going to sound like an idiot, but I'm new at transmissions and trying to understand them. Isn't the lock-up of the torque converter a goodthing since it eliminates the slippage between the engine and transmission? If I'm wrong by all means please correct me but thats how I understand that it works!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2008, 07:14 AM
dhvaughan's Avatar
dhvaughan dhvaughan is offline
Hall Of Fame
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle: 01 1500 4wd
Location: Gainesville, Ga.
Posts: 12,192
Default RE: Torque converter lockup switch

Quote:
ORIGINAL: dillonjm
Take it into the dealer and have them update your PCM. The updatedprogram disables lockup in 3rd gear.
really ?
what is the advantage of no lockup in 3rd gear ?
__________________
01 1500 Reg Cab 4wd 5.2 auto 3.55 285/75/16 steps tow hooks sc3815 180 3923 trans cooler filter posilok powertrax (removed) timbren britebox pioneer head rockford amp speaker cobra cb firestick hughes plenum water pump timing chain oil pump rear main hub bearings brakes shocks cracked dash cad bushings seals ujoints trackbar tcase Robert Griffin Trans
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-23-2008, 11:55 AM
mopowar mopowar is offline
Record Breaker
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 1,567
Default RE: Torque converter lockup switch

Quote:
ORIGINAL: dhvaughan

Quote:
ORIGINAL: dillonjm
Take it into the dealer and have them update your PCM. The updatedprogram disables lockup in 3rd gear.
really ?
what is the advantage of no lockup in 3rd gear ?
When driving at low speeds in 3rd, it takes you out of the torque band when the tc locks.DC calls it a "perceived loss of power". It probably helps to counteract thier earlier flashes that pull all the timing out.
__________________
2009 Dodge Ram QC Sport 4x4- Diablo/ Mike Wilson tuned, Magnaflow/Mufflex, K&N drop-in
Mid-Life crisis Truck: 2000 Dodge Ram- 360-4.10's-Hughes heads-2.02's/1.62's-M1-Hs 1.6 adj. rr's, Krc 210x cam-Ram Air Box-MSD ignition-Long Tube Headers-SCT tuner-2500 stall
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-23-2008, 11:15 PM
rankhornjp rankhornjp is offline
Registered User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 28
Default RE: Torque converter lockup switch

How much would it cost to have it reflashed??
Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2008, 11:15 PM
 
 
 
Reply




Tags
1500, 2003, 48re, converter, cummins, diesel, dodge, durango, lock, lockup, ram, replacement, sound, switch, torque

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Join DodgeForum
Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Internet Brands, Inc.


Contact Details & Emails

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.5.2