2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

oil pressure??

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2008, 12:56 AM
Black1500
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default oil pressure??

this is my first time posting but im gonna give it a try... earlier today i went and miss judged a water whole and ended up my truck had got water in the engine from settin there till i could get a pull out of the whole... as soon as i got it out i had shut it off and got fluids drains and got the water out off there... but now i am having trouble when im running my truck at juss bout anything over 1500rpms its fine but if i let it idle the oil pressure drops completely and if i rev it up it jumps right back up... i want to fix it tmrw bc its my only day off but have no clue as to what it might be...

Old 06-22-2008, 08:21 AM
2 Marks
Professional
Default RE: oil pressure??

very odd. Your water and low oil pressure are mutual exclusive issues. Verify that your oil level is correct. good luck.

Old 06-22-2008, 08:53 AM
Black1500

yea ive checked the oil and it is correct and there is no engine noise while idling or even running down the road but if its rev quick it makes a high pitch almost whistle... i was thinking my oil pump might have got messed up but i really have no clue and dont wanna start to tear apart until i have a better idea of what it might be...

Old 06-22-2008, 08:53 AM
dhvaughan
Hall Of Fame
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

any milky color to your oil, indicating water still in there ?
how high was the water level you were sitting in ?

thinking out loud..
since it registers normal oil pressure above 1500, that indicates the oil pressure sending unit on the back of the block is probably ok.
oil pressure tends to be lower at idle, and higher at rpm.