Go Back   DodgeForum.com > Dodge Trucks > Dodge Ram > 2nd Gen Ram Tech
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

2nd Gen Ram Tech 1994-2001 Rams: This section is for TECHNICAL discussions only, that involve the 1994 through 2001 Rams. For any non-tech discussions, please direct your attention to the "General discussion/NON-tech" sub sections.

Transmission does not engage in any gear

Old 11-11-2008, 09:58 PM

Vehicle: 1995 dodge ram 1500
Default Transmission does not engage in any gear

Newbie here looking for some help. Its a 1995 Dodge Ram 1500, 5.9 motor with an Automatic trans. About 3-4 months ago it did not shift into overdrive. That did not bother me much since I didn't use overdrive much, but today my transmission does not seem to engage in any gear. This just happened on my way home from the gas station, luckily it happened only a block away from home.
Is it time for a new rebuild or can it be a bad sensor or something?

The truck has ran perfect until today (with the exception of the overdrive not working).

Any help would be appreciated.
This ad is not displayed to registered and logged-in members.
Register your free account today and become a member on Dodge Forums!
Old 11-11-2008, 10:17 PM
Record Breaker

Vehicle: '99 F350 PSD
Send a message via AIM to MonteC

Time for a rebuild. When the transmission wont engauge any gear than you have a mechanical problem, internally.
Old 11-12-2008, 11:19 AM
Record Breaker

Vehicle: 95 Ram 1500

You didn't say anything about the tranny fluid color, smell, level. The last time it was serviced and how. Noises or anything.
95 1500 5.9, 3" SJ Sys Diesel Coils, 35" Trxus M/T, 16" Streetlocks, 4.56, Auburn Posi, Ox Lock, Hella, Remote start, K&N, Flowmaster50, 4x4 Posi-Lok, Custom bumpers, 9500 winch, 1-ton Steering, AGR SuperPump, RedHead Gear, Corbeau seats
Old 11-12-2008, 02:20 PM

Vehicle: 1995 dodge ram 1500